We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - Reasonable Rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Street, Henley-on-Thames, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service - Reasonable Rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here on business last week - A very friendly, efficient guy working front of house (sorry - don't recall the name - but 5*'s for a great welcome) took care of the valet parking and showed me to my room. Parking was £15 a night (which was not explained at the time) - otherwise it's pot-luck parking on a busy road.

The hotel is well appointed and has a great feel about it - lots of wooden floors and vintner-themed artwork etc. Also has a great courtyard.

My bedroom was full of quality furniture, a Nespresso machine and Free-Wifi (a refreshing change!).

We had a Team supper in the restaurant - I had Crab to start and Lamb to follow - both really good - well cooked and tasty. Wine also great... but I'd hope so at Hotel du Vin!

Table waiting service was 'OK' - we had to chase most of the side-orders which did not appear until half-way through the entree, but otherwise everyone enjoyed there food.

I skipped breakfast, but my colleagues looked like they enjoyed theirs.

If staff in all Hotels were as friendly and efficient it would make travel a whole lot better! Well done guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    132
    98
    43
    18
See reviews for
35
258
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights when visiting Henley. Weren't sure what to expect, but chose it as was close by to our friend's who's party we were going to.
From the moment we arrived here we were greeted as if royalty! Smiling and helpful faces welcomed us followed by information about where our room was and where all the facilities were etc.
It was clean and smart but not pretentious. Homely. We ate one night there- food fab.
We will be back for sure! Looking forward to it too!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed in the Hotel Du Vin in Henley on Thames, this was our first experience of the Du Vin group and we were fairly impressed. The reception staff were very friendly and check in was quick. The room was good, nothing special about it, the bathroom was nice with a signature bath and large walk in shower.
The service in the Bistro was very slow, several times we had to ask for our drinks. When the food was served it was done so gradually, one dish arriving then a side dish then another side dish then the sauce, not very professional.
Overall this is a nice hotel, if you can make use of some of the online offers they have from time to time you really feel as if you are getting value for money, I am not sure I would have been so happy paying full price.

Room Tip: As for a higher floor as the 1st floor can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We used the Sunday night deal, which allows you to stay (Room only) for £10, as long as you spend a minimum of £99 in the Bistro (and anyone who has eaten in a Hotel du Vin knows how easy it is to spend that!) Breakfast was not included (but there was a Room, breakfast and 3 course meal deal for £155 available on all nights except Saturdays, so that might float people's boat instead.

Interestingly, you had to spend the money in the Bistro- the bar didn't count, but I saw plenty of people, on the same deal, taking bottles of wine/drinks into the bar area after the meal.


The rooms were as stylish and comfortable as the other Hotels in the chain, but I can see little scrimpings creeping in (the tea and Nespresso machine, but no biscuits, and smaller, seemingly more inferior toiletries). I hope the chain isn't on the slide, as a few people are suggesting. Also, I wonder if this is one of the least interestingly located Hotel du Vins. (You can walk along the river, take a pleasure cruise down the river, look in the limited selection of shops, and visit the rowing museum, but really the enjoyment is in the hotel itself).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent hotel - great atmosphere, amazing room and fantastic service!
My husband and I stayed at this hotel after a day at the Olympics - we arrived at around 6pm and the reception welcome was very friendly. We were shown to our room which was amazing - a fair sized bedroom but with a big bathroom upstairs! A lovely tub and a massive walk-in shower unit!
We had booked a table in the restaurant for dinner and went down early for a drink in the bar. It was relatively busy but we got a table in the bar area - there was a great buzzing atmosphere and the service was good.
Dinner was lovely - not perhaps as amazing as I was expecting but the food was of good quality and cooked well.
Our room was really comfortable with all the amenities you need. And breakfast was great - it took a while to come but we were in no hurry and just sat and read the papers - very relaxing!
I'd really recommend a visit to this hotel - sadly it was raining when we were there so we didn't get the chance to experience the stunning outside space, but it's a very pretty, chic hotel offering great service and good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday as we have grown to love the quirky style of this chain. Sadly at this hotel, staff made errors from the moment we arrived, however each time these errors were quickly made up for; our room not being ready at 16:00 received two complimentary glasses of champagne and not being able to use both the £20 voucher that came with our room in addition to the £15 wine voucher from being a member of the mailing list (despite neither saying that they couldn't be used in conjunction), received us 15% off of the wine which had already been poured prior to us being informed of this. Incidentally, local parking at Waitrose is NOT free on a bank holiday despite what the staff will tell you.
We had booked a standard room, which was nice, although nothing overly exciting in decor compared to others in the chain. The bed was huge (it could happily sleep 3-4), extremely comfortable and the room lovely and quiet - one of the best nights sleep I've had in ages! The surround on the bed however will ensure that I remember this break for weeks to come due to copious bruises obtained getting in and out... No bathrobes but brilliant air-conditioning so you need not be cold.
The bistro food was very good and the fillet steak amazing. The outside seating area and well appointed cigar shack was a nice touch
Overall, a good stay and I would definitely return to the bistro and probably the hotel also at a promotional rate, or try a more expensive room, as the standard rooms were lacking the special something that I would expect from them at rack-rate

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We held our wedding reception here yesterday 18 August and it was the most beautiful day. Starting off with pictures by the Thames, just a stones throw from the hotel, then Champagne in the picturesque courtyard followed by sublime food served in the unique Canata Room. The ambience was relaxed chic and service was faultless by all. Everyone commented on a wonderful venue. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.