We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames

Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames
20 Market Place, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AH, England
+44 (0)1491 845780
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $51 - $98
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We popped in at lunchtime with our (sleeping!)15 month old grand-daughter. The restaurant was quiet despite it being a Friday. Our drinks and food order was taken promptly by Samantha and we were also served quickly - unlike some of the other reviewers.

Unfortunately, the little one woke up before we could eat our meal but that was no problem to Samantha and Manuel. A balloon was produced and attached to her high chair and she was kept amused by staff until we had finished eating.

We had the 2 course lunchtime special and really enjoyed it. Staff were so helpful and friendly especially the aforementioned Samantha and Manuel. Management should bend over backwards to keep them!

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    45
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A last minute trip to Henley found us eating at Loch Fyne...the staff were really helpful, the service was very good and the only thing slowing us down was the fact it took us forever to choose from the menu. The food was delicious and the staff really accommodating - thank you for a lovely evening!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was treating my friend to lunch for looking after my two dogs whilst on holiday. We entered the restaurant and was shortly shown to a table and menus left. More that 10 minutes passed before the waiter even acknowledged us and when I asked why it had taken so long the reply was very SHIRTY and off hand. Our order was taken and it took some time for the starters to arrive. Very poor portions of both garlic prawns and calamari. The main took a similar long wait. It was not busy, maybe 6 tables of 2. I was reluctant to make a fuss as this would have been embarrassing for my friend. We both agreed that we had had a poor experience.
The bill did not include service and needless to say I did not leave a tip. I shall NOT be in any hurry to return or recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good food, great ambience and service.
Best restaurant we were introduced to during our weekend visit to Henley-on-Thames.
The Irish Oysters were delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service! Grumpy Staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We usually like Loch fine. Coz both of us are sea food lovers.
But I will never go to the Loch Fine in Henley.
We were very hungry.
Went there on a Sunday in 2012.
We were seated there for half an hour.
I am not exaggerating.
No one came to get our order.
My boyfriend tried and got the attention of a waitress.
She said she will come back but never did.
We left the place and found the Little Angel Restaurant. They were very good !
I will never go to Loch fine in Henley

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.