We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tite Inn

The Tite Inn
Mill End | Chadlington, Chipping Norton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wedel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just great. Absolutely fantastic innkeepers, even at highest level of customer-friendliness we felt like friends not like guests. The pub food is at this level of price and location just great. The selection of food is well-thought-out. Good chance for us to try some local specialities. Of course accompanied by some pints of local ale. At the end we ended up 4 out of 6 evenings in the Tite Inn end definitely not because lack of choice but just no reason to go anywhere else :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly hosts, great for kids :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited June 29th 2013, the same evening as the previous reviewer!
I'd called and booked earlier in the day - turns out it was a good job we did as all other tables were taken. Nice table for us and 3 children - one went in their high-chair (actually a strap on chair on a normal chair, protected by plastic sheet) which was OK, but a proper high chair would have been better.
Lovely friendly staff and locals who advised me on various beer choices and had me trying them all before choosing :) Staff were great with the kids. Children's meals went down very well - they loved the skinny fries in particular. I had lamb shank which was lovely, hubby had pie I think.
It has been beautifully refurbished by the new/current owners, who were so helpful, well beyond normal service!
The beer garden/terrace was lovely, and the owner said they are adding a children's play area as their next task - which will be perfect (although for now there is a great play area 100 yards up the road).
We liked it so much that the next day, we returned (20 of us in total) and had lunch in the garden! The lady who owned it remembered us and our baby's name and was again, very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree Essex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Friday night and a little crowded but that shows how popular it is, deservedly so. Good pint of beer Doombar from Cornwall which was new to me.
Starters all good and I enjoyed my smoked haddock special with a poached egg and a mustard sauce. My wife's fish pie was a bit of a disappointment. Puddings went down well though. Service friendly and efficient.
All in all a good experience

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great meal at the Tite Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yesterday we enjoyed another fantastic meal at the Tite Inn. Our group of 15 were well taken care of, especially the children. Ann is so welcoming to children and us grown ups got to enjoy our meal knowing they were in good hands. Nothing is too much trouble at the Tite, everyone is so welcoming and helpful. We had pre-ordered our food as we were such a large group and it arrived within a few minutes of us sitting down. The children's food came out first (always a good sign of a family friendly pub) and our the adult food followed quickly afterwards. Everything was piping hot and there was a plentiful supply of vegetables. Despite being a busy Sunday (Father's day too), the service was attentive and quick. There was a small delay with someo of the adult desserts but this was quickly rectified. I would definitely recommend this pub to anyone, from couples to large groups. We look forward to getting the chance to go back yet again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Happy Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was wandering round the Cotswolds for Oxfordshire ArtWeeks with a friend and we decided we needed a nice pub for lunch. Luckily we didn't have to look far. This is the quintessential country pub. It has been recently refurbished and has a wonderful outside eating area. It is terraced with some great nooks and crannies for a quiet lunch a deux, and some bigger tables if you want a lively lunch with friends!

I think it must be a free house as there was some great beers on offer, plus some rather nice English cider on tap. My friend really enjoyed the traditional cloudy cider on offer.

The menu is extensive, with all you traditional favourites. We opted for baguettes, filled with prawns and cray fish tails from the lunch menu. They were fresh, very delicious and excellent value for money

The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. And although it's an 'order your food at the bar' kind of service if you're sitting outside, the staff actually came out and checked we were OK and took orders from the table. Had a lovely cup of tea too.

There's a good a la carte menu and the specials were very tempting. I'm going to return to give them a try!

The toilets were good too, very important for us ladies! There is a large car park in the dip behind the pub.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tite Inn also viewed

Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Tite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tite Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.