We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Country Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falkland Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Falkland Arms to your Saves list
Falkland Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Country Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked 2 nights here, I booked Falklands Arms as it was close to The Driving Experience location I had booked for my husband. The place is lovely, rooms are clean and tidy and the staff are exceptionally friendly, it was an added bonus that we could get cash back as well from the bar as there are no local cash points. Only down fall was they had forgotten to reserve us a table for the evening on the second night and then because we were placed in the bar area we were a little forgotten. Having said that the food was great. I would suggest that they make their menu a little more vegetarian friendly, they do a great veggie breakfast but not much at all on the evening menu which was a bit of a let down. I would definitely recommend here, the views and location are beautiful and there are some great walks. If you stay here, try the Hooky Brewery tasting afternoon which was fun. There is a pub called the pear tree right next to the brewery which is lovely and friendly too. I loved the shire horses and seeing them out on the beer delivery round :).. all in all a pleasant experience x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    55
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
117
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Called into the Falkland Arms whilst in the area for Motogp, we had met family here earlier this year and decided to return. Bar staff very friendly and they managed to squeeze us in for a table although they were busy. The food was excellent and good value for money we will certainly call in again when we return to Silverstone next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A very ancient thatched inn in a very small villge of thatched cottages. Cosy bar and side rooms with wood panneled walls, open heart and cottage cooking range.
Fine selection of real ales.
Friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having visited this 'traditional local pub' a number of times over the years we decided to re visit on Friday with a view to taking friends there on Monday. Although the pub was empty inside apart from two people, all the tables were reserved. I looked in the dining room, none of the tables had reserved on them but when enquiring with bar staff was told they were also reserved. We decided to have a drink and in the mean time the couple left so we grabbed a table. We ordered a sharing platter which did not match up to others we have tried elswhere in terms of there being sufficient to share. The quality was ok and we bulked it out with chips which were good.

We returned on Monday with friends thinking it would be quieter and we would be able to get a table. This time it was completely empty but again the tables were all reserved. We were told by bar staff that tables were automatically reserved for staying guests, however, it was said we could sit outside, in the wind! On this occasion we didn't stay for a drink and went elsewhere.

My advice to local people is don't think you can 'pop in for a bite to eat' it seems almost impossible. It also seems a strange business model to reserve tables for people who may wish to eat at some point during the evening but turn people away in the meantime.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as it had very good reviews but I'm afraid it was disappointing. The room was very pleasant and comfortable but the cleanliness of the shower left a lot to be desired. A good few sprays of mould and mildew remover would not go amiss! Breakfast was ok but that was all. No toast, and coffee was in a cup not a pot. We had to keep asking for more coffee. An important note from my cousin was supposedly delivered to our room, but we never found it and as a result our visit was a complete waste of time and money!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The meal we had here was totally amazing. The selection of beer here is really good. We had two courses my wife had tasty duck and the pork that I had was lovely. Puddings are good here as well. Reasonably priced in stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we have just returned from a lovely weekend break ! Could not have asked for any more lovely accommodation in room 6 top floor beautiful views! Great lunch upon arrival in the beautiful garden, fantastic breakfast and a lovely Sunday roast. This beautiful quaint hotel is in a great location and the staff were attentive throughout our visit! Enjoyed our trip thoroughly and are already planning a return visit with family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkland Arms

Address: Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkland Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Falkland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkland Arms Chipping Norton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkland Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.