We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will live in my memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkland Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Falkland Arms to your Saves list
Falkland Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will live in my memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were 4 Australians looking for a real character English pub. We found it. Loved everything. Loved the age the squeeky floors, the stone walls, huge fireplaces,
The atmosphere at dinner time with people coming in from the cold with their marvellously well behaved dogs. People chatting and friendly. It is one of the best memories I have.
Our breakfast was huge and comprehensive, and the cheery Kate would make anyones morning a happy one.
I would go back again tomorrow if I could.
Loved it loved it loved it

Room Tip: This is not a clinicly clean 5 - 6 star hotel. Its a 16th century pub, and that is the beauty of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    55
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
117
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

visited the falkland arms great tew today. 16.6.12. shared a pluoughmans. it had all been plated up at least 1 houre before ordering. everything was fridge temp. bread,rock hard butter.it was all fridge temp!! 3 small pieces of cheese.not worth the £10.50! why do they do it and expect you to come again! they are trading on a previous reputation, and its a shame.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Despite its lovely location (actually in Great Tew, near Chipping Norton) and picturesque exterior, this pub was a real disappointment. We could have put up with the bland food it was such a pretty place but it was so dirty!!! We sat outside on log benches with wooden tables covered in the
Previous diners' mess, full ashtrays etc. went to the loo and it was like going to a public convenience in an inner city, not nice. Made us wonder about the cleanliness in the kitchens. Too many other much nicers pubs in the Cotswolds to give this one your money!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights lovely setting,great food/breakfasts room small but adequate.Staff and Stewart very chatty and helpful. Very peaceful Really enjoyed our stay and would reccomend.

Room Tip: we had room 5 very 'creaky' floor boards! and over the bar but did not disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just back from a weeks break in which we were lucky to stay at the falkland arms.This gem is a national treasure it feels like a trip back four hundred years,there must be few places with such atmosphere as this and the staff were really friendly and helpful oh the food was just lovely too.We have been fortunate enough to stay at some beautiful hotels and the falkland is one of our favourite, I can say it's homely and not the place if your looking for ultra modern flash bathrooms and accommodation .Dont let that put you off as it has it's own charm in bucket loads we will be back time and time again we love this special beautiful hote.l

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a great old pub located in the picturesque village of Great Tew. The hosts were most welcoming, and reserved a table for us in the bar area for our evening meal on each night. It is better to eat there than the restaurant area as there is far more atmosphere as the locals pour in each evening to eat, drink and chat. The food is fantastastic. The bedroom is small but adequate, and has a four poster bed. The floorboards creak, but that is expected in a few hundred year old building. This place just oozes atmosphere. With such happy friendly hosts, I would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived approx 8pm and was warmly welcomed by Stewart behind the bar. He took us to our rooms and reserved a table for us for an evening meal. The rooms did appear slightly dark, but that was because the pub is over 500 years old and has smaller windows. We had room 5 which was a 4 poster bed and ensuite. It was done out in period features and deco. I know they are redoing the accommodation during the summer, but please do not take too much of this charm away. Whilst we were there the service by all the staff was friendly and always willing to help. The atmosphere of the pub and village is not to be missed. The location is tranquil and is a step back in time. The thatched roof pub and cottages were beautiful and were indeed from a postcard view. The food was also very good and plentiful and don't miss the full English breakfast or if you are brave enough....take on the bakers breakfast basket of pastries - good luck!!
If you are a lager drinker and enter the bar that has only ales and real beer on tap, don't worry...there is a special draft lager "below the bar" which is very nice.
We would love to go back there and enjoy the peace, tranquility and supurb scenery of Great Tew!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkland Arms

Address: Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkland Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Falkland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkland Arms Chipping Norton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkland Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.