We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown and Cushion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crown and Cushion Hotel to your Saves list
Crown and Cushion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Having read some bad reviews, I wanted to share my experience of this hotel. We stayed in a 4 poster room which was comfortable, if a little dated and tired, it was still good value for money. The pool was a lovely temperature and very quiet. We had originally planned to stay for 3 nights but on the second night, there was a function on for 70 people in the function room below our bedroom with live music. We decided to leave the hotel and go elsewhere as we wanted a quiet night and the hotel staff were very accomodating and happy to refund us (as we had to pay upfront) so was dealt with very easily. Hotel is very conveniently situated in the Cotswolds, would happily stay there again (checking first if there is a function on!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    125
    75
    68
    91
See reviews for
83
233
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southampton great britain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

stayed at hotel in october 2011 for the second time this year,,great hotel very freindly staff .Good food at breakfast & dinner.Have rebooked for next year and can't wait to go back.Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Book a four poster room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was the worst stay i have had in years, if not ever. On arrival we were not even met with so much as a good evening or how was your trip, in fact we had to find the manager ourselves to check in.
We were not shown to our room - minor but warning sign re staff well being & lack of care!
The fire alarm went off early morning - not everyone evacuated & we were told it was a false alarm - very shoddy what if it had been a real fire.
The sound proofing was awful in the room & we were kept awake by some phone or alarm most of the night.
Price was 50% off i e £80 - soooo not worth it.
No parking facilities at all.
Definitely would not recommend it to anyone!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albox, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Having lived in Chipping Norton for many years, we deliberately chose to stay at the Crown & Cushion, thinking it was still the best hotel in town. Wrong!
The fire alarm went off on the Sunday morning, at about 9.00am. We went outside and saw four couples. What a difference when we then went in to breakfast. The dining room was full of people, none of whom had vacated the room when the alarm bell sounded. The staff had not ensured that everyone was outside at the assembly point. There was no-one around outside to check that guests had vacated their rooms or to take a roll-call.
In the room, the toilet wouldn't flush & the inside of the cistern was absolutely filthy.
The room was cold and even after asking for it to be heated, it was still cold.
The blind in the bathroom fell off its supports.
The television kept pixcellating, when it did switch on.
The bedside lights swung down when I tried to adjust them, as their fixings were loose.
A knob from the wardrobe drawer was on the floor and the information book was falling apart, with several loose pages.
Although asking several times for the Wifi code, the receptionist was most unhelpful and suggested I went down to reception to use my computer.
I asked to speak to the manager at 9.30am and was told she usually came in at about 10.00am. AT 10.30am I was told she was still not there, although the receptionist kept looking at the curtained window to the manager's office! Eventually she gave me the manager's name.
I was ashamed to think that this hotel could be seen as representing the standards of Chipping Norton.
Sandie Tinkham, Spain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were dismayed by many of the reviews of this hotel, but after staying there for three nights we thought that some of the guests had been very unreasonable, and others had probably been unlucky with their timing and fellow guests - conclusion: don't stay there during a crowded summer holiday season or over a bank holiday week end. We found all the staff friendly and helpful, the food good quality and servings generous, and the room (a 'four poster') a good size with adequate storage space. Yes, the car park was rather cramped, especially when some larger cars managed to occupy two spaces, and yes, the breakfast sausages could have qualified as 'vegetarian', but we enjoyed our stay very much, especially the free use of the well-heated pool which we had entirely to ourselves, and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay during the height of the tourist season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

very nice hotel, staff was more than helpfull, lovely room and excellent food they serve

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our stay was for 4 nights (end of Sept/beginning of Oct. 2011)
We read some of the reviews before making our reservation and were a little apprehensive about our stay. When we got there, we were very pleasantly surpised that anyone would rate this hotel poorly! This was exactly what we had pictured as a Cotwolds "experience"! It has tons of charm, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and accomodating. One thing to keep in mind is that this is not a Hilton-style hotel, this is a charming OLD hotel with a lot of history. If you are looking for an updated more modern hotel, this is not the place for you. We enjoyed our stay here because we enjoy the whole "Old English" experience. This is a great hotel, don't be fooled by the other reviews.

The pub was exactly what you'd see in a postcard with both an outdoor seating area that we loved and an indoor restaurant! The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect!

The only thing we can really "complain" about was the lack of parking if you return around dinner time; however, there is public parking about a block from the hotel that we used when we got back late.

I would say if you are looking for a nice location to explore the Cotswolds, this is a great place to make your base.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown and Cushion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.