We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be awful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown and Cushion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crown and Cushion
23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
01608 642533
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be awful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The rooms are basic but comfy. The bar is cozy and far too tempting. The restaurant OK.
But somehow the place is greater than the sum of its parts.
Odd, quirky and somehow charming, the ritz it ain't but kinda nice.
So don't expect luxury but don't be awful and write it off.
A decent place to use as a base to visit the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Neighbours Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We all got together for a Christmas celebration and though there were lots of people there, both the food and service were excellent. Nice choice of meals & great fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This English Pub was truly authentic. Great Ale, great food. Great staff! Try the pale ale and menu. Great choice of authentic English fare

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The prices of the food in the restaurant here put us off, but the we noticed the bar meals menu which was much more in our price bracket and quite varied. The bar staff were very attentive and although busy when we arrived about 6 30pm on Saturday we managed to find a table and were served quickly. The staff were extremely helpful, especially one waiter who kept going back to the kitchen to get us "extras". The bar emptied out around 7pm and we enjoyed our meal in comfort. Would highly recommend this .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and ale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent an evening here in the bar/restaurant. Not obvious from the outside, but this is a little gem. Great food, (massive portions), and very cheap!
The local Norton ale is always worth supping.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown and Cushion also viewed

Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Crown and Cushion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown and Cushion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.