We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions count” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Chipping Norton
England
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“First impressions count”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a day at the Crown Plaza at Heythrop Park today for a conference and a series of meetings

Its a bit like many of the conference oriented hotels / venues Ive stayed at before - quite smart, but large and a bit soul-less. Dont think I'd stay here for a romantic weekend personally.

As you walk up the driver from the carpark, the first thing that struck me are the two scruffy / unused looking tennis courts. You are then presented by a large modern blocky edifice connected to an old stately home type hotel (which I believe is actually run by DeVere - weird)

Inside the Crown Plaza is modern and well presented. The conference theatre was large and the audio was good. The catering was not bad - I've had worse (Ive had better too) and consisted of sandwiches, sausage rolls and mini quiches

Later I had a series of meetings in the mezzanine bar - I was annoyed a couple of times where I had to get up and walk back downstairs to order drinks. Could have done with staff walking around a bit more. Perhaps they were hiding from the freezing cold draught that was coming from somewhere!

I ate in the bar later on - I had a Piri Piri Chicken Burger, which was average. Not particularly spicey but nice enough.

Didnt get a chance to have a go on the golf course which looked good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback very seriously and will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    215
    117
    41
    23
See reviews for
110
260
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for a few nights during the October half term whilst seeing some of the sights in the region. The hotel isnt the most attractive in the world but is in a nice setting, conveniently located for Oxford, Stratford & Warwick and is well decorated (though not to everyone's tastes) and appointed. The room was big enough, with 2 double beds for the 4 of us but if anyone was sitting at the dressing table you had to climb over the bed to get past. Wardrobe space was also limited with about 6 hangers and 1 drawer. There was at least one function on while we were there but you wouldn't have known when in the room, there being no noise.

Having use of the spa facilities was good and the children loved the pool which was never very busy. The outdoor play area was also appreciated by our children who seemed to be the only ones ever on there.

Breakfast, served in the restaurant, was your standard buffet but well done and kids eating free made it great value for money.

We ate in the restaurant one evening with mixed experiences. The adult food was very good but service was slow and a bit disorganised, the same problem experienced in the bar before hand. The kids menu had the usual sausages, burgers etc. on it but also a couple of different dishes and our eldest daughter plumped for the kids fruity curry. When it was served she complained it was spicy and we thinking she was over reacting tried it and had to agree, it was very spicy. This was in no way suitable for children, I would have struggled to eat it. An alternative meal was provided without issue but from the "processed meat & chips" selection. Also, a minor point but the chairs in the restaurant whilst they may be nice for lazing in were low armchair type chairs and to reach the table children needed cushions or to sit on their knees, my wife and I also felt an inch or two too low for comfortable eating.

All in all a good base for a few days but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your reivew of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We will address the issues you raised with the relevant departments so they can strive to make constant improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for friend's wedding with my partner.
Check in perfectly quick and informative. We felt like we had a good feel of what is a large hotel and grounds.
Room very comfortable and a good breakfast provided in a fine room with great views of the ground.
Slightly let down by some defects: shower temperature too stiff to control, toilet seat falling off and ripped armchair. I mentioned this on the way out (I only realised when using bathroom the next morning) so hopefully sorted out now.

I would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Although they say wifi is only available in lobby and there is extra charge if required in room or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We will ensure that your feedback is passed to the Maintenance Team to ensure the minor issues with your room are rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days with the children and can honestly say it is the best IHG experience ever (and as a platinum member I stay rather a lot)

The grounds are stunning, the room was superb with a bathroom to die for.

The bar was the highlight of the trip......Real Ale! Yes, after years of ice cold, factory produced tasteless fizz masquerading as 'beer' I finally tack down a chain hotel which serves the real thing. It was the rather ubiquitous Doom Bar but fresh, tasty and clearly popular as they ran out during our stay.

Breakfast was functional and just slightly disappointing that hot fish options were not available.

The kids food was lovely, not the usual greasy fried drivel but top notch noodles served with salmon or chicken.

Pool was lovely but beware, the tiles are slippery when wet.

Can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay with us. We are pleased you found the resort family friendly and will ensure that your feedback regarding the 'real ale' is passed on to the Bar Manager.
We very much look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a business event hotel is set in stunning landscape the hotel staff were attentive and friendly the rooms were immaculate and modern. The venue is set in acres of beautiful land the drive up to the hotel is amazing I would highly recommend the hotel for business and for leisure. Breakfast is fresh and there is plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with school friends from years ago.
The hotel is next door/linked to a De Vere hotel which was being renovated. They are not in the same chain of hotels but seem to share facilities. The set up was quite weird. You could walk through from one hotel to the next but there were few guests and it was almost eerie.
We had a lovely room in the Crowne Plaza, very clean and smart. No bedside lighting was annoying as unable to read in bed.
We booked a spa package for the ladies and a golf package for the men. The spa had me booked in for the wrong package and when I paid for a top up to the basic short massage they tried to charge me the full price.However, credit where it is due, the full body massage was superb.
The men fared no better with the golf, we had tried to pre book a tee time and left a message but they never got back to us. My husband had to be quite firm to get a tee time on that morning.
The golf and spa facilities are in the grounds of the other hotel and a short walk (outside).
We had booked the package with an evening meal in the Brassey restaurant. Nice black and white decor with silhouettes, very effective. The food on the whole was good (apart from a Heythrop salad which was just a bag of mixed leaves in a bowl) but the service was appallingly slow.
We had a late check out (2pm and free of charge) which was good and were able to keep our tab open until we left the hotel at 5pm.
Overall a pleasant stay but some really weak areas need to be resolved.

Room Tip: We were in a new or newly renovated annexe, it was smart, clean and elegant. We were in rooms 004 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Pauline F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate confusion over the packages prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for a three day golf break. It is in the middle of a country estate in a very pleasant part of the world. The hotel building itself is not in keeping with a country estate building and looks a bit odd amongst the grounds. No matter though, it´s decor is made up of silvers, purples and blacks, giving it a boutique feel and the staff are all very friendly. We had booked a twin room which was in excellent condition and very spacious and included two double beds which was more than we had expected. It had a very large wall mounted TV and a large bathroom with walk in shower and bath. As we had booked an all inclusive golf and dinner package, we ate in the restaurant on all three nights. There was lots of choice and the food was of a high order. Breakfast is in the same restaurant and is a buffet style eat as much as you like effort and is also very tasty. There is also a large and relaxing bar underneath the restaurant with a good selection of drinks including an excellent pint of Doom Bar. It´s also worth mentioning that the hotel has clearly reacted to feedback left on this site, where people have complained about a few things. For example there are now several vegetarian options on the menu, hash browns are now available at breakfast and the hotel wi-fi is now free of charge and is lightning fast. Most enjoyable. There is also a Spa and golf course which is a short walk from the hotel. There is ample car parking space in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford

Address: Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Heythrop Park-Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.