We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Stylish Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had seen mixed reviews, which did cause us some slight concern in advance. However, when we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed with the location, style and ambience. It is in a relatively modern extension to the original historic building, but it was possible to walk through to it and also explore the extensive grounds.

Our bedroom was small – probably reflecting the building’s past use as accommodation for trainee bank managers – but adequate. The bathroom was a good size, and everything was very clean and comfortable. The only downside that arose throughout our stay was a problem with the hotel’s electricity supply, which caused a noisy back-up generator to start up on an almost hourly basis from 4am onwards. This may have been because it was very hot and all the guests using their air conditioning over-loaded the electricity system? The hotel staff were very apologetic for this and assured us that this was a temporary problem which was being addressed.

Breakfast was in a very stylish and light dining room, and of a very good standard. The food was hot and there was plenty of choice from the buffet.

Overall, a very stylish hotel in a beautiful location. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    274
    154
    52
    33
See reviews for
133
328
11
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Started off with me struggling with my case into reception when there was a male member of staff there to help me. He obviously didn't want to! Had lunch which was excellent and a lovely 2 mile walk round the grounds. Then back to our room which was clean and modern.Had a shower, turned the pressure up and the head flew off and hit me on my forehead! Complained and it was fixed within 15 mins. Staff apologetic. Had dinner in the Brasserie which was very good. Next morning we were woken up by the staff knocking on all the doors. Complained again! Breakfast was good, although plates were cold and my husband had to wait for more sausages etc. So really this hotel was very much hit and miss. It looks good but needs fine tuning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but are also sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas.
Please be assured that your review will be passed on to the team so they can review and implement changes where necessary.
Once again we appreciate your feedback and hope that you may consider us for a stay in the area in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I brought my husband here as a thank you for his support during my recently completed degree, and could not fault the hotel on anything. This was our first child free break in over 5 years but we certainly won't wait so long before returning! We paid a little extra for a junior suite, and were very glad we did so. Lots and lots of space, comfy and luxurious, a huge rain shower and a separate bath. The bed was perhaps a little soft, but it was so relaxing I didn't mind. We did run out of milk and tea, but when we asked at reception for me, these were delivered to our room within less than half an hour. Pool area was also very pleasant and relaxing, and we enjoyed the short walk. The grounds were lovely and our room overlooked the fountain. Breakfast was also very nice, a fantastic selection of food, and pleasant, prompt service. We didn't eat until after 10am, as we'd been for a swim first, but there was still plenty of choice available. Phone signal not great, but that was no problem, we came to spend time together, not to be glued to our phones.
Fantastic, the best weekend we've had in years!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1036 on the mezzanine level, overlooking the fountain (you do hear this, but we found i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay! We will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team and very much look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely area, small room but everything nice and clean, ironing board, iron, proper hair dryer and not one stuck to the wall in the bathroom. Went to the bar but didn't stay long as parents were letting their kids run riot all over the place. Not much outdoor seating considering the location and views only seating in an indoor courtyard, ate in the Brassey restaurant but not worth the money, and just over 2.5 hours for a 3 course meal, the staff were lovely but just too slow however at breakfast they couldn't wait to take away your empty plates etc, totally different service. A small walk to the car park but pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are pleased that overall your stay was a positive one but will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team so they can work to constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We sated here on 9&10 August 2013, the grounds and the walk up to reception was lovely, the interior of the hotel is modern, clean and nice, check in was quick and painless.
However we got to our room and although the interior was lovely and the room was clean there wasn't any room to swing a cat! Normally I wouldn't have minded so much but I have a one year old and needed to set up a travel cot, which the hotel knew about! We couldn't fit it at the end of the bed so had to move a chair that was wedged in a corner out to put the cot there and asked at reception if they could remove the chair as there was no space for it, they said it wouldn't fit through the door so basically we had to keep climbing over the bed to get round it! Also there was only a shower cubical no bath! No ideal when you have to clean a baby that isn't waking yet!

No where in the website does it say no baths only showers!

We are in the Brassey restaurant on the first night and I could not fault the food, it was lovely although they do not have a kids menu only a buffet which was 9.99 each, now I'm no tight skate but my child and our friends child are both under two so don't eat that much but it will was 9.99 if you was aged 1 or 12! Good choice of food but it was all a little sweaty!

Breakfast was good, nice selection.

Saturday night was the worst! We was woken by the electrics all going off at 3.50am and the emergency generator coming to life which was situated beneath our room on the ground floor!! This happens three times! So us and our daughter were all woken up! This happens three times, and was extremely loud! Finally this went off but the electrics went in and off 11 more times, we finally got our child back to sleep around 4.45am only to be woken again at 7am buy the generator! This then went off and we had no electric at all for about an hour so I couldn't put the tv on to entertain my tired child and I couldn't warm her milk for her bottle! I called reception and they they could say was sorry and they didn't know when it would be fixed! Disgusting.

I realise these things happen and it isn't the fault of the hotel, however although you don't expect the generator to have to hear into action, you surely should not put a family with you g children right in top of it! You also don't put them in a tiny room with no bath or you should have explained this was how it was when te booking was made so we could have upgraded our room.

It's a shame as the hotel was nice but with so many issues I wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and in particular that your night was disturbed by the power cuts we experienced.
Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and that the issues from during your stay are being fully investigated.
Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed one night here on our way to the New Forest. Lovely Hotel, big room with huge bed and nice bathroom. Ate in the mezzanine bar good food. Breakfast good. We didn't use the spa facilities but had a walk around the grounds and into the old part of the hotel which was very impressive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a friend's wedding. Car park is a short walk from reception. Check in was fine. Perhaps a little too informative, we were weary and had a screaming baby, we didn't need the restaurant and leisure facilities explained.
Room is small, we had a portacot at the foot of the bed and it left no space.
Breakfast was not great, we left feeling very sluggish and rough. Stick to the cereal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased you had a comfortable stay but apologise that we fell short in some areas.
We take all feedback very seriously and will ensure that your comments are fed back to the departments mentioned within your review.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.