We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pheasant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Pheasant to your Saves list
Golden Pheasant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is full of Cotswold charm with a price tag to match. The carpark is too small, the rooms were small and I could hear every word the man in the next room was saying on his 'phone, during the evening it was very noisy being situated above the main bar and at the front of the hotel overlooking the busy high street. The breakfast started at 8 and was average, served by a grumpy member of staff who looked completly disinterested. On the plus side, Burford is a lovely town with a number of great pubs, most of which provide food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    42
    32
    16
See reviews for
16
145
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cala dor
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for a saturday night at this hotel, booking was made last minute. I went with my husband we stayed in a large four poster bedroom at the top of the hotel.
The manager was pleasent on our arrival, and showed us to the room.
I was shocked as some one had used the toilet and not pulled the chain, I noticed the room was not very clean, carpet was marked, and one of the pillows was very stained, not wanting to cause any trouble, did not mention it.
When we got ready to go out, there was no hot water, so my husband complained to the staff, afer 30 min we had hot water.
Did not sleep very well, and breakfast was not at all up to standard, my poached egg was raw, again I did report this to the staff.
On checking out we did have some money off the bill, but will never go there again. So sorry to have to report nothing but bad things about this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on The Golden Pheasant, You will be pleased to know that we have replaced all linen, pillows and duvets in the hotel, I can only apologise about the issues with hot water and breakfast, We are currently doing all we can to improve every sector of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a delicious meal, the staff are all very friendly and the beer was the best I had during my stay in Burford - the new owner (Andrew) seems very keen to be making changes and bringing the pub / B&B to the standard that it deserves

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I arrived on the 31st of May stood around at the desk! Spencer on the phone taking bookings. So I went to the Bar asked for someone to book us in the Owner seemed completely disinterested in our arrival!! Eventually someone appeared and took us up to the room!! Clean but wires everywhere! Naked bulbs in the bathroom!! This place needs to get organised.

No Breakfast Menue! No Fruit.The waitress was rushed off her feet and did not know where things where clearly not up to standard either regarding service.food and the so called calim to fame " The only place in Burford with Sky Sports attracts noisy teenagers well past bedtime!!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed for two nights - excellent location on high street but with very very limited car parking at the back. Staff are helpful and obviously still a bit 'wet behind the ears' but they are trying their best. Breakfast was plentiful but took absolutely ages to arrive;there was no marmalade available only jam and the orange juice tasted extremely odd.The room was incredibly hot due to the heatwave but there was no fan available and we were told the room would cool down later - it didn't!! and we hardly slept.Another couple actually went out and bought their own fan. On the second night we were awoken around 12:30ish by a group of very loud but not drunk youngsters in the courtyard - god knows what they were doing but they spent the next hour and a half going in and out of the building chat,chat, chatting ?? The place will greatly benefit from an upgrade as it is currently very tired and jaded, the beer is good, our evening meal was tasty but they need to up their standards as the competition in Burford is very high. Would consider returning next year when the staff are 'bedded in' and the place has been revamped.

Room Tip: It's an old building and retains it's heat so if the weather is likely to be hot, bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed overnight last week - Andrew the new owner is a great host, and Spencer the manager very helpful - relaxed atmosphere, good beer..............nice

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights (10th&11th May). On first impression not too bad, the place is dated, we arrived on a wet Thursday and tried to find their car park ( blackboard with gold letters) the car park is a bit of a shambles. We were shown to our room by the manager (nice touch) the room overlooked the front it was tidy and clean (the bedsheets didn't have crumbs in, I checked). The en-suite was tidy but the lighting was poor (my candle kept going out in the shower) it was really dark. Talking to the manager, he said new owners took over the day before we arrived and are going to totally revamp the hotel which is what's needed. This hotel can be excellent the staff are pleasant and helpful the food is fair to good. Good luck to the new owners and hope they deliver on the revamp, it's needed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Pheasant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.