We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highway Inn

Save Saved
You added The Highway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highway Inn
117 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Burford B&B and Inns
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just happened to stop here for the night and what a pleasant visit it was!
We quickly made friends with the bartender/inn keeper and the chef! They were both so nice! The chef takes so much pride in her work, you can really feel the great care she takes in each plate. A true 5 star chef! I would love to thank them again for the warm welcome and friendliness you showed us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visted the high way with my husband a couple of Saturdays ago , me and my husband both thoroughly enjoyed our meals I started with the homemade soup which was beautiful and beautifully presented I then had the rack of ribs- best ribs I have ever eaten! Highly recommend these! Great portion sizes! The staff were very friendly, particularly our waitress Georgia who delivered a great service and took the time to take an interest in our stay in the Cotswolds! Thank you so much to all at the highway we had a lovely time with you and will be back again without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the courteous way in which the booking was taken to the final bill, I can only describe it as a perfect experience. Food was reasonably priced and very tasty. Pie had a top & bottom unlike lesser establishments. Staff very friendly. Will definitely go again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably one of the oldest hotels we have stayed in and I beieve originated during the 15th Century. Subsequently the stairs were fairly narrow with low ceilings (as was the bedroom) which made a large suitcase somewhat interesting to manage. The en-suite room had all the facilities expected and was very comfortable and the booking included a full breakfast which sounded great in the details and proved to be even better than described. The stopover was not pre planned and was booked on the afternoon of arrival. .Having said tha,t the staff were extremely helpful and accomodating in making our overnight stop comfortable and accomodating. The bar and restaurant area was relatively small but comfortable and once again the staff were a credit to the owners

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Highway Inn for the weekend while visiting family. We've stayed before in a quaint little double en-suite on the first floor, but this time we were allocated the Taynton suite, which is pretty much your own wing up in the eaves of this charming building!

Our room was extremely cosy. Being in my early twenties I appreciate modern décor as much as the next person, however having said that, this place has got the balance between period features and modern functionality just right. Plenty types of tea/coffee and ample space to store your luggage. I found the old wooden beams charming and the neutral/Union Jack theme throughout to be spot on.

The food, as always, was delicious. Presented beautifully and tasting even better. We actually met the chef on duty at the time of our visit and I take my hat off to her for presenting such wonderful plates of food for breakfast, lunch AND dinner. Highly recommend the Highway Inn even if just for dinner reservations. Bar staff were friendly and welcoming!

Only tips would be that my partner is 6'2" so had to watch his head on the way up to our room, but once you are up there the ceiling height and bed size are both perfectly fine, so not really a criticism. There was some noise from the road side which is busy through Burford (no fault of the inn) but we found the windows that had been fitted in our room were well sound proofed so again, not a major issue.

Will be back again, our fave place in the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice and friendly welcome and very good location. of this Hotel. Friendly staff. We were on a gardentour and the location is perfect. Food is very good. The mother of the owner was very friendly, helpful and interested.
Needs some moderation in the rooms. Lack of space and clips to hang up things in the bathroom.. you could'n put anything anywhere..

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Highway Inn for the weekend for some well needed rest and we got it. Situated on the high street in the Centre of Burford the Inn is quaint, clean and very friendly. Our room was lovely and just right for two. The food was also very nice and drinks readonanly priced. We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Highway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highway Inn

Address: 117 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Burford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highway Inn is a family owned and run cosy Inn, right in the heart of Burford, in between Oxford and Cheltenham. The open fires, great food and cosy bedrooms will help you relax whether on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Highway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highway Hotel Burford
Highway Hotel Burford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.