We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull at Burford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bull at Burford to your Saves list
The Bull at Burford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Special occasion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wonderful food on Sunday. All cooked from fresh ingredients - Sushi, tomato salad, quiche, prawns, pork and delicious sweets. The staff were very attentive and looked after the little people. Don't hesitate to eat here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    76
    18
    16
    3
See reviews for
38
174
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Popped in for lunch, lured by the "Homemade Pie Of The Day" sign outside, and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and at around £10 per dish, very good value. We had pie, fish and an asian seafood curry and all were outstanding. Nice, friendly staff, only downside is no real ale on tap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying very close at the Golden Pheasant and had already eaten there one night and so decided to eat at the Bull on the next night.
We ate in the restaurant which was good, perhaps I was expecting more as the prices suggested it! Anyway it was fine but I'm still shocked by the price for one pint of ale ( direct from the barrel) and one white wine spritzer, I haven't paid nearly £9 for two drinks since the Langham in London and this is no Langham!
The place itself is very much like nearly all the buildings in Burford....very old ..quaint and therefore nothing really fits. All part of he charm of the place which no doubt would go down well for the American visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel right on the High Street with a car park. Five stars for the staff and service and totally outstanding breakfast. Excellent location and very handy for day trips to Cotswolds. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior, worth the extra costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited here last week having read the good reviews. It was mid week and we booked to eat in the bar area (as it felt less informal) but to order from the Restaurant menu. On arrival the bar was completely empty. We felt a little background music might have helped add atmosphere (they had speakers).Staff were very friendly and attentive and the food generally not too bad. However I chose the Dover Sole which turned out to be a mistake: The fish was larger than a Minnow but not by much! I mentioned this to the waitress in a friendly way but not sure it got back to the kitchen as no more was said. Overall,not too bad ,but felt it lacked soul (excuse the pun !)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Cardiff, South Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday night recently. Before our trip we knew the hotel had a car park, but on arrival there was a space on the road quite close to the hotel, so we parked there, thinking we would move the car later. Check in was easy and we told the owner we had parked outside - he said we were fine there until 10.30 am the following morning, but didn't mention their car park, or offer for us to park our car there.

We had been placed in the Trafalgar room which was quiet in so far as we couldn't hear the traffic from the road, but it was above the bar and we could hear people talking there quite clearly. This did not go on too late, thankfully. We could also hear conversations from elsewhere but we never worked out where the voices were coming from. There was half a staircase going up in the corner of our room which was accessed from outside in the corridor - we found this quite strange! The floor was very sloping, which was quite disconcerting but a platform had been constructed so that the bed was on a flat surface - the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean with nice toiletries. Earplugs were provided! Perhaps this was in case the noise from the bar below became too loud!

We had an evening meal at the hotel which was delicious. The breakfast too was very nice. We had a chuckle at the row of jam pots placed on the buffet breakfast table (mentioned in a previous review I think). Service at breakfast was very efficient - sometimes too efficient, with plates being whisked away practically as you took your last mouthful of food.

However, there was something about the hotel which we cannot put our finger on, but we won't be going back. Their pricing policy is strange, with one rate for Sun to Thurs, another for Friday, and another even more expensive for a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel really is a restaurant with rooms - the building dates from 1475, so expect sloping floors, rooms all different shapes, 4-poster beds, and a ghost maybe ! We were there for a friends reunion on their Winter Extravaganza terms. This meant you had DBB in a superior room for £105 per night for 2 people to include £35 worth of food each from the menu. Our room was delightful on the first floor overlooking the main street. Good toiletries in the bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There was lounge on the first floor which we used extensively to chat with our friends. Dinner was a nice slow affair in the warm and cosy restaurant with a good choice for each course and a separate fish menu which included some delightful tasty lemon sole ! Small moan - it was a pity that bread was not provided with the soup rather than being an extra.
Breakfast was another delight - fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade muesli, and a good selection from a starter buffet together with comb honey ! Normal breakfast main courses with very local eggs, home baked bread and some very good marmalade.
Our hosts, Clare and Jean-Marie could not do enough for us -plenty of tourist books and magazines to look at, attentive service at every meal. They only have a small car park at the rear, otherwise you can park on the street for a limited period daytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105, High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull at Burford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.