We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality Travelodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Burford Cotswolds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Burford Cotswolds to your Saves list
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bury Barn A40, Burford OX18 4JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Top quality Travelodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is one of the best Travelodge I stayed so far. The property is recently renovated. The room was clean and flat TV quality was great. The staff was friendly and sincere. Burford town center is just 5 mins walk away from hotel. A lot of parking spaces available in property. There was no wifi and as advised by receptionist, I walked to the associated restaurant next door and used free wifi there. The hotel is situated right at a roundabout and so be careful when satnav indicates that the destination is near.

Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
64
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Satnav postcode took me close enough to find the hotel. Approaching The Travel Lodge from Lechlade, the signposting in the last few yards was non existent and I had difficulty, in heavy traffic, finding the entrance at a busy roundabout.
Arrived at 3pm and easily found parking space. Later in the day the spaces filled up but was still able to find a slot on returning from a meal out.
Reception was small and basic. However, the receptionist (a Greek Cypriot lady) was helpful and pleasant. She advised me on local restaurants and facilities.
The room was a good size but basic. However, it was well prepared with a high standard of cleanliness The bed was comfortable and enabled a good nights sleep. No hair dryer.
The bath was small but adequate. No towel rail provided and this raised issues with wet towels. A towel rail would be a useful and low cost addition to the bathroom.
Check out was not staffed so we left the key on the counter. I met three cleaning ladies and complimented them on the high standard of cleanliness in our room.
The Burford Travel Lodge was more expensive than most Travel Lodges we have used. It was reasonable value given its location and proximity to our intended local destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Burford Cotswolds, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your review HRH84. We are really pleased to learn you had a great night’s sleep with us. Unfortunately we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms as part of our brand standard however our customers may borrow a hair dryer from reception. These are available anytime, on a first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellently located for all of the Cotswalds! Staff are very helpfull & friendly. The room was clean & comfortable ! 1 minute by car or 5 minute walk into Burford which is also very quaint and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This Travelodge is a really good advert for the company. Everything is new and fresh, and it's a really comfortable place to stay. I think it's fair to say that in recent years, one or two Travelodges have been allowed to fall into quite a dire state, but it seems that the refurb programme they've embarked on is heading in the right direction. This hotel is exactly what you expect for the money. It's simple, without feeling downmarket, and it's clean, and everything works. The beds were comfortable, and the linen didn't feel cheap. The staff are nice and friendly too. Perfect for the money!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and got a great deal by booking well in advance. This hotel is in a good location for visiting the Cotswolds. The rooms are basic, but clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great position for visiting the Cotswolds, the comfort provided in which, after all is a budget hotel was excellent. There are plenty of other hotels in Burford especially the Cotwold Inn on the high street where the food is once again excellent.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Travelodge Monday/Tuesday in September, having stayed here many times previously. I was very impressed by the re furbishment and the room was now very similar to a premier inn room. Had a ground floor room at the back so very quiet. This is an excellent base for touring the Cotswolds and Burford is just a short walk away. Staff were helpful especially when we had trouble with our room key. Would recommend and hope this standard is kept up.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing the grounds are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Burford Cotswolds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Burford Cotswolds

Address: Bury Barn A40, Burford OX18 4JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burford Cotswolds 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Burford Cotswolds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds Hotel Burford
Travel Lodge Burford
Burford Travel Lodge
Burford Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Burford Cotswolds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.