We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Old Coaching Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lamb Inn to your Saves list
The Lamb Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheep St., Burford OX18 4LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Charming Old Coaching Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this old coaching inn for 2 nights in October 2013.A warm welcome to our bedroom overlooking Sheep Street with excellent facilites considering the age of the property.

Dinner was taken on both nights in the a la carte restaurant. the menu was varied and the quality of the food served was excellent with a good choice of wines.Service standards were very good and a excellent breakfast cooked to order.

A small cosy and comfortable residents lounge with log fires.

The hotel is part of a small group - Cotswold Inns & Hotels. They have given the Lamb Inn upgades in keeping with it's traditional heritage.

The hotel is well situated just of the main road in Burford - within 5 minutes walk from shops, tea rooms etc.

A positive recommendation for this lovely old coaching Inn - you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It is very nice to read genuine appreciation of the Lamb Inn which as a building stands at over 600 years old. We have a similar respect and enjoyment of the property. I look forward to receiving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    88
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
37
241
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Lamb Inn last Christmas as a treat to ourselves. The service here was great, the staff especially the manager, were very attentive and welcoming. The food and wine was fabulous not cheap but well worth the money. Our room was very comfy and clean and furnished in a style sympathetic to a property of this age. I really liked the little touches like the Molton Brown toiletries and the hand made petite fours with our coffee after dinner served by the roaring fire. The breakfast was similarly tasty with everything you would expect and more.We really enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend to friends.

Room Tip: only disadvantge of our room was that it was rather too close to the toilets used by those visitng t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and personal praise. The waiting team are very pleased to hear of your service appreciation and our Chefs very happy that you enjoyed their cooking. Being two months since your visit I cannot put a face to name but please let me know when you next come and stay as it will be a pleasure to personally welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I called in on our way from Salisbury for lunch today. Although the service was attentive, the drinks were costly at £5 for a small glass of wine and the main course very costly at £14 for a very small piece of fish, (hake) about two inches square with flavourings + chips being extra at £6. At least the tomato ketchup was free. What a rip off.
For the sweet course, we both chose chocolate tart with ice cream at £6 a plate. This was the most awful sweet I have tasted and nothing like its description, being a thick, fudgy, glue-like substance, which managed to remove one of my fillings in my teeth ! ..
Whilst paying my bill, I mentioned this to the counter attendant but received minimal response or explanation whatsoever, he being too keen to take my card payment.
Needless to say we shall not be stopping off at this hostelry any time soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am genuinely surprised to receive your review and have investigated your visit fully with the hotel’s Deputy General Manager, David who took care of you.

Firstly, I must point out that we have an array of nearly twenty wines available by the glass. These range from £4.75 to £7.50 for a 175ml glass. This is clearly stated on our bar tariff and menus.

David has explained that despite there being pork belly and four fish main course options available in the bar you were adamant that you must have the pork belly and hake dish from our restaurant menu ie. mixing the bar menu with our two rosette fine dining restaurant menu. Our portion size in the restaurant is smaller than the bar as you would expect. Having insisted upon a main course from this menu in the bar and then a bar dessert, David has adapted to your request and charged the two course price of £20. You and your wife both refused the offer of coffee which was included nor did you mention the “glue” issue.

Regarding your chocolate tart, again, I am surprised. This is a simple dish which is our best selling dessert and one which when last removed from the menu was quickly reinstated by demand. I do not see how the loss of your filling has any relevance to this dish and in fact I hope you have publically berated your dentist in a similar fashion as you have done to the Lamb Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a lovely old Inn in the Cotswolds. The service as soon as you get there is great and the atmosphere wonderful. The food menu is well thought out, choosing local ingredients, and well executed. The little town of Burford is quaint too. I wish we could stay here more often!

Room Tip: Pick the Malt room, as it has a large bedroom, bathroom and a lovely bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate your praise. Our Chef, Sean has led our kitchen for nine years with consistency and imagination. We are proud of a Chef which understands the Lamb Inn and the guests who frequent our hotel. This is evident in the two rosettes he has held for the entirety of his tenure. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Lamb Inn twice. 10 years ago we booked 3 rooms with two teenagers and my parents. We arrived in June, hot and tired from our flight from south florida. we soon realized that this was a place we could relax and unwind. Sitting out in the Garden, having drinks and lunch was delightful. We stayed three days and used Burford as our base for adventures around the Cotswolds.

Last October my husband had a scheduled trip to London, we decided to take a side trip to the Lamb Inn. Once again, we were not disappointed. I love the quaintness of this Inn. The owners are so nice and accommodating. Breakfast was/is included in our room price. We returned each day and had a drink at the bar. There is a tea in your room as well. You can take dinner there or eat at another restaurant in the cute town of Burford. We love the Lamb Inn and would not hestitate to recommend it. Beware....there are a few Lamb Inns in this area, make sure you are booking the correct Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your return to the Lamb. I am very pleased that after ten years on things are as pleasing as they have always been. The hotel has a huge reputation and history which we are all very proud to be a part of. I hope we will see you sometime again…in less than ten years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were caught by a few days of rain on our Cotswold Way walking tour. We phoned our guide, Andrew of Cotswold Walking Holidays and he suggested that we get a driver to Burford for the day, tour the town and stop in for a prolonged lunch at the Lamb Inn ( ironically on Sheep Street!) The small rooms that were connected and rambled in all directions all had a cozy roaring fire and it appeared the locals had the same idea as to how to spend a day of rain. The food was good, the people watching excellent, and the atmosphere hard to beat. Burford itself is charming and they are some enticing shops on the main street. This is only a review of the pub as we did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
There are few better places to be on a wet day than inside by a fire at the Lamb with a glass or wine or an ale! That is my personal and professional opinion. I hope next time you visit we have the opportunity to take care of you overnight to further increase your appreciation of our Inn. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent three nights here last week 3rd,4th and 5th Feb having booked following Trip Advisor reviews. We had the 'Malt' room which is spacious and comfortable with a clean and well kept en suite complete with Moulton Brown shower and shampoo. All staff very attentive, friendly, helpful and willing to please. Lounges with log fires comfortable, welcoming and homely. Restaurant first class with delightful food professionally prepared and served. Breakfast was excellent with many choices including a freshly cooked 'full english' available on request. Good beer on tap and a varied wine cellar. Didn't eat in the bar but the menu looked pretty good. Burford itself is quaint and reflects what one expects from a Cotswolds.village. Don't miss the Oxford Shirt Company with so much to offer for men, women and children. Will not hesitate to return to this traditional country Inn in the near future.
Barry W

Room Tip: Try the superior double/twin room 'Malt' on first floor front facing. Overlooks the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind résumé of your visit. I can see that you have genuinely captured and enjoyed the essence of the Lamb Inn during your time with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Sheep St., Burford OX18 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.