We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Cotswolds break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Tree Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheep Street, Burford 0X18 4LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Cotswolds break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here on a midweek 2 nights for 1 deal which included dinner on one night. Had the Oak Master Suite at the front of the hotel which was superb value - massive bedroom with four poster bed, sofa and open fireplace; a separate lounge with sofa, armchairs and another fireplace; and a good sized bathroom with large jacuzzi bath.

The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were all extremely helpful, courteous and efficient from the moment we arrived. Lovely spacious dining room looking out on to the garden. The breakfast selection was among the best I have experienced in all my travels and the evening meals were good too.

The hotel is located away from the main street, which means that it is very quiet but still only a short walk to the shops.

In summary, a perfect place to get away from it all when you get the chance!

Room Tip: Oak Master Suite is lovely - four poster bed, separate lounge and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    82
    34
    22
    12
See reviews for
59
222
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Bay Tree for one night as we had a wedding nearby. With a 2.5 year old we are always wary of room sizes for his travel cot and how child friendly places are, plus the mrs likes somewhere nice to stay. After looking at all the websites for hotels in the area we decided to go for the Bay Tree and we weren't disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful (we had to get into the room early to set up travel cot before the wedding) and very friendly (posted our forgotten night light back to us). The hotel itself is lovely, we had a garden room in one of the out buildings and it was very comfortable and just what we needed. The breakfast was lovely too!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm, inviting place to stay whatever the purpose of your visit to Burford.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view get a garden room, nice and spacious too and away from the main building sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had our wedding reception in the Bay Tree Hotel in early February 2014.

This was the first venue that we looked at but from the moment we walked in we knew this was an amazing hotel and had such a lovely setting to hold our wedding reception. We were not wrong.

The day itself was perfect. The hotel looked amazing. The rooms were superb. The food was excellent. The service of ALL members of staff involved on that day was outstanding. I have to mention Maureen who did an amazing job of co-ordinating everything and took the stress out of many of the arrangements in the lead up to the wedding (thank you!!)

The whole day felt very relaxed. We had the whole place to ourselves which meant the kids could run about and play and parents wouldn't worry.

Many of our guests remarked on how lovely the place was, the service, the food etc. We couldn't have asked for anymore.

For us it was perfect and we are so happy with our wedding day, we would not have changed one thing. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful Christmas and looked after very well. We had a suite I think it was the Oak Room with a four poster bed which we had a set of steps each so we could get into bed.
In all public rooms they had log fires. The food was good. Nothing was not to much trouble.
This was the first time we had been away at Christmas on our own, we will do again. This was December 2012.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Bay Tree is in the picturesque village of Burford. The buildings are really spectacular and the hotel is covered in flowering wisteria. The hotel is quaint with flag stone floors and a fire in the snug. Our room Kempster was large with comfortable bed, sitting area and bathroom
With molton brown toiletries. We loved our room which looked out to the garden. We went to the Lamb next door for a drink which was equally as lovely. The bar at the bay tree had limited drink options.
Location is just off the main road and ideal walking distance. I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay but not to eat. The down side was we had 2 day meeting and the lunch food was disappointing - we had chips which were ok, sandwiches limited selection and bread slightly dry and soup which was cauliflower and was tasteless no one ate it. We did raise this and asked for day 2 to have salad and selection - the service was slow and for example we did not have plates had to ask for these - sandwiches were again limited and dry, the salad was limp. Breakfast had a buffet which was fine with good selection, ordered poached egg and toast, the egg was cold and the toast was cold and more bread than toasted. Overall lovely venue and would use the hotel but choose to eat elsewhere as a selection of good pubs close by.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Funny having just read the last review posted about this hotel- as I am really not surprised that this actually happened to that poor couple with the baby! The staff are just plain rude and look like they just don't want to be there. Why bother doing the job then? Go offer that sour face to someone else. Breakfast in the morning was luke warm with the hardest bacon ever. Must have sat around for awhile getting air dried. The rudeness didn't just exude from the staff but seemed to spread to some of the other guests staying at the hotel! I held a door open for a couple to walk through first, to be greeted with........absolutely nothing. A smile would have been nice, but even that was too much for some cotswold folk. Though this is no fault of the hotel, it just left an all round bad taste in the mouth. Never again. Snobby hotel for snobby people. Avoid unless you are one of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We returned to the Bay Tree to celebrate our First Wedding anniversary with our baby Daughter.
Included in the price was a three course meal in the restaurant.
We highlighted on check-in that we required early supper and we were told the earliest was 7o'clock.
We went straight in and were shortly joined by another couple who were very friendly towards us and were cooing over our Daughter.
After ordering our food and wine ,we were offered bread with our 'muse Bouchée'.
Our Daughter started stirring and cried for at most, ten seconds ,then returned to rest.
Within a moment we were asked to leave the restaurant as we were ' ruining the enjoyment of other Guests' ,we were both stunned ,then given the option to eat in the main bar or in the Library but we had to leave,we were not welcome to stay!!!
I asked about our enjoyment, this wasn't a consideration!
Our Daughter was not upset or causing any discomfort to anyone,including the other couple present,had she been crying continuously ,one of us would have left the restaurant to console her.
However this was not the case.
The evening was spoilt ,
We returned to our room,which unfortunately was located above the main bar.
The raucous laughter and loud chat WAS ruining our enjoyment and resulted in our inability to sleep or relax,having been banished to quarters by Restaurant Staff!!
We paid to have a junior Suite ,as it was a special occasion and although the room was adequate,the location was not!
Due to the circumstances,my Husband refused to use the Restaurant for breakfast or spend anymore money in the bar/ Hotel.
We will not be returning to The Bay Tree and as Patrons to other establishments in Cotswolds Inns & Hotels group,The Lamb,Burford. The Manor House,Moreton-in -the-Marsh,in particular( which we return to twice a year) we will scrutinise your Children/Family policy and expect that when you are clearly advised that a baby is a potential Guest,you have a duty of a provision of service for that Family if you confirm the booking.
Their enjoyment is your responsibility, as much as others.
We are all paying Guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Burford 0X18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.