We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to eat and stay in FarrowandBallshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Swinbrook, Burford OX18 4DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Burford B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat and stay in FarrowandBallshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My comments echo those of many previous guests and diners , this really is a gem tucked down a country lane just about 1 mile off of the A40 ( you can't hear the main road traffic ) , the rooms are clean , comfortable and of a reasonable size , I agree about the clunky plumbing noises but it is a minor irritant . The food is very tasty , I recommend the minute steak , and the real ale is good too !
If we ever get any summer in England this year , then there is a very pleasant garden to the rear of the pub , I contented myself with looking out onto it from the conservatory restaurant ( a proper oak framed conservatory , no tacky UPVC ) as it was a tad wet outside .

Room Tip: all rooms are located in a stone barn ( suitably converted ) that adjoins the garden and car parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
58
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Recently had an overnight stay here. A wonderful location in the middle of nowhere. Our rooms were comfortable and good value. We stayed in Stble 1 and 2. The plumbing left something to be desired...wonky taps, poor drainaway etc...noisy fans etc : little points which could irritate if you were there a longer time. The food however was excellent and the service very helpful and obliging. Very handy for the Cotswolds or Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We decided on this particular day to venture out and visit the Swan Inn at Swinbrook. From Burford where we were staying, it wasn't difficult at all. The staff greeted us with a warm and friendly smile and showed us to our booked table.
The pub had a good feel and seemed friendly from being greeted by a local outside to walking inside and being greeted by a waitress.
We ordered some drinks and we were very excited about being away from the touristy area, (albeit very nice) and having some fresh, beautifully prepared food. The menu was excellent! We promptly ordered our food and were not disappointed whatsoever. The whole Plaice was absolutely yummy, as was the Guinea. We were quite full, but decided to try the Eton Mess. It was very nice, but personally I prefer for a few more strawberries and some strawberry coulis, but in saying that it was polished off!
We very much enjoyed out visit and would return the next time we are visiting the Cotswolds in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location, good food,great company,glamorous women,good wine,okish service so why am
I I dissapointed? Use their sister pub at bleddington a lot and very happy there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my birthday on a cold and snowy February day. I was looking for a cosy pub with luxurious accommodation and the owner upgraded us to Debo's suite when he found out it was my birthday. This is definitely the room to have, well worth the extra cost. There is a separate lounge with its own single bed, a bathroom with a roll-top bath, and a glorious bedroom which is light and airy with a very large and comfortable double bed. There are two televisions, one in the main bedroom and one in the lounge/single bedroom. The suite is sited on the upper floor of an outbuilding just behind the pub with countryside views from all windows. This is the room to go for!

We ate in the inn, were made to feel very welcome and sat and talked by an open fire. At no time were we hurried or rushed to order our food. The food was superb although the menu was perhaps a tad limited as there were no specials on offer. The owner had however remembered it was my birthday and telephoned to say we could have a drink on him. This was a lovely touch and made my day.
Breakfast was a full delicious affair with fruit juices, croissants, toast and cereals plus several cooked options.
We very much enjoyed our stay and I can only think that the bad reviews on Trip Advisor were associated with other staff or that the reviews had been taken to heart, socks pulled up and standards raised.
Give them a try!!

Room Tip: Choose Debo's room for sheer indulgence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked the Swan Inn as an alternative to stopping in an expensive Oxford hotel, it was definitely the right choice. We stayed in Orchard Store in the stable block. A beautiful room with great attention to detail and a very comfortable bed.
Breakfasts were wonderful, the scrambled eggs are exceptional.
The service in the evening was very attentive. Choice and quality of food were superb.
Owned by the former Duchess of Devonshire, the Mitford sisters family history is fascinating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived at the Swan on a Sunday afternoon and very much enjoyed the atmosphere in the garden, where tables and chairs were spread amongst apple and other trees, bantams were wandering, many obvious locals were there accompanied by their dogs for an evening drink and some of the locals were playing conkers with chestnuts. We stayed in Debo's Room - a delightful, very spacious, comfortable and well appointed room - almost a suite - in the roof space of the old stables, overlooking paddocks of sheep and apple trees dripping with fruit. The staff were very welcoming and attentive during our three day stay and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The village is superb, with beautiful cottages and gardens and a wonderful church, and the location very convenient for Cotswold sightseeing and lots of terrific walks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Swinbrook, Burford OX18 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Burford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Burford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.