We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping ??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siam House Thai Restaurant

Siam House Thai Restaurant
195 Loughborough Rd | West Bridgford Notingham NG2 7JR, Nottingham, England
0115 9814455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,115 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Notts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Slipping ??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My Partner and I think that over the past few months, the high standard of food has slipped. Its a shame as it was our favorite restaurant in Nottingham.
Also, please get rid of the large mirror on the downstairs wall. The tables next to it ensure that diners have to look at themselves. Much better upstairs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    16
    6
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food shame about the hair in it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I dined here alone and on thus occasion the foodwas again very good although considerably let down by a sick feeling when I uncovered a large black hair in my dinner at the end, I complained (which I often don't being very British) but was met with a blank stare.
I was offered by another member of staff free coffee which I said I didn't wish to have and was advised I was already receiving the early bird offer of 10% discount so that was that basically.
A shame as I probably won't come back anytime soon.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Inedible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Had a takeaway from Siam House in West Bridgford. It was pretty awful. The 'salad' was soaked with fish sauce so that is all it tasted of...v. unpleasant. The 'beef' looked like poor quality pork, the 'chicken' looked like beef and was coated in spiky 'hair' which was probably supposed to be lemongrass but bore little resemblance and all the sauces were overly heavy on fish sauce and chilli which made everything almost inedible. Will not be going there again. I've tried them a few times now and each time have been unimpressed by the quality and taste of the takeaway. It's not cheap either so I would expect better. No more chances...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very tasty and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was a family occasion and found the food suitable for all tastes. The overall cost very reasonable and will return for one their "eat as much as you like" special offers.
I recommend the "Early Bird" option as it makes a change to visit a West Bridgford restaurant with the family and not break the bank!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Excellent food and service. Couldn' t fault it Ate from the Groupon menu which had plenty of choice and the wine was excellent. Have been visiting this restaurant since it opened and the standard of service and the food remains as high today as it did in the beginning.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam House Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Siam House Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam House Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.