We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really gone downhill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flaming Dragon

Flaming Dragon
Burton St., The Cornerhouse, Nottingham NG1 4DB, England
0115 9503738 or 0115 9501373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #820 of 1,150 Restaurants in Nottingham
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and have always been impressed but there seems to have been a significant dip in quality. The waiter who took our drinks order was Eastern European and couldn't speak English. He couldn't take an order for 3 cokes and a glass of white wine. No background music gave a canteen feel to the atmosphere - it would be well worth investing in a sound system. The food was below average - some had been out so long it was welded to the serving dishes. The desert section had sushi & beans on it so a little confusing. Overall very disappointing and at over £50 more expensive than a pup meal or a takeaway

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    27
    29
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not up to scratch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having passed may sum as it was too busy, decided to go to flamng dragon as we have had some good food there before. Boy was this a mistake........We had the buffet sunday lunch menu and after being shown to the table should have taken the hint why there was hardly anyone in there!!!
Not huge selection of food, mainly chcken dishes, they even had a sunday roast section with potatoes peas, yorkshire pudding etc but couldnt tell what the meat was by looking or tasting.
They had no prawn dishes, not even prawn toast [my personal favourite] how can a chinese not do prawn toast!!!! Although food was cooked the fact of little choice ruined the day. Even the pork for the pancakes was useless as there were no pancakes on either trip i took for food....pudding also poor selection...dont know if recently changed hands or staff but the whole place was looking unkept, dust on syrfaces and the beautiful fish tank they have in reception which had koi carp has been drained, probably as they couldnt keep that clean either.
Will definately be crossing this restaurant off my list of places to go in nottingham....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Discrasful food !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I visited The Flaming dragon on Saterday with a group of my friends, the food was not at all plesent it was cold, and the sweet and source was like water.

I would not rate ths buffay at all it was discrasful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special. Good for a quick Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been to flaming dragon on a number of occasions and I think it is safe to say that it is nothing special. As a restaurant that is all you can eat it is extremely good value for money, particularly if you just want to eat something quick before going to the theatre or night out.

The food is not exceptional quality but you do get ample choice of various dishes. You can tell the restaurant has been around for a while now, with some of the chairs needing to be replaced. However, the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I like the variety..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I like this restaurant because it affordable and I get student discount... It is very convenient for me to get to and whenever I am there I can eat to my hearts content.
I like the fact that you have the option of even having a take out box if you haven't got the time to sit inside and eat.
On every visit the food does sometimes vary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaming Dragon also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Flaming Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaming Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.