We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a great show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginza

Ginza
593-595 Mansfiel Road, Nottingham NG5 2FW, England
0115 9691660
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 1,150 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and a great show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Been here a few times, service a little slow i must say, could be stood at the door for 10 minutes before anyone arrives to see you, we always book a table before we arrive, bad thing is your usually sat with random people you don't know to fill up places ( not a problem for me, but just be aware)
we always order the Teppan-Yaki Deluxe x2 plenty of fresh seafood, you get to see all the food unprepared when your chef arrives, quite a beautiful site to see, i must say food is top notch, the way they make the egg fry rice from scratch and cooked the seafood is exceptional. food doesn't look like much but after the 5th course you'll be full
drinks are a little pricey, so just be wary of how much you order because with one or two drinks each with your meal will cost you around £80
but other than that you pay for what you get
ps. bring a camera with you :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The food & beer was excellant & nice how they cook the meal in front of you but nasty shock when you get the bill, VERY expensive !!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wow what a show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Ginza, they know how to dine there customers!!
First time here and I am looking forward to going again. Opted for a meat set menu, which was amazing. The Chef's really know how to cook!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An overpriced but enjoyable experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

First time here for a friends birthday which is quite a good place for a social meet, with a pre/post dinner drinks area. The teppan yaki setup is quite novel watching the food being cooked in front of you. The price for the Ginza deluxe set meal at £28.50 pp was perhaps a little over priced and I would advise get the standard at £22.50 and sacrifice the half lobster and scallop for prawns and sushi. The half lobster was quite small (4-5 small pieces) and a substantial portion of the scallop was the roe which I don't eat. The fillet steak was asked to be cooked rare but came medium ( don't know how they can cook rare when doused in flammable oil and set ablaze!). The garlic rice , salad and chicken was lovely, miso soup is miso soup. Would probably go again as it's something different but I wouldn't say the food quality quite matched the prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Ginza last night expecting a feast but was left disappointed and very hungry. When we asked staff about the lack of food they said that we have been served all of the seafood courses as specified on the menu. We challenged missing dishes and was surrounded by at least 5 members of staff which I found most intimidating, not to mention the fact that they asked if I had been drinking! we paid the full price for a meal we believed was not complete and will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginza also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.