We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and discretionary service charge isnt discretionary at all!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginza

Ginza
593-595 Mansfiel Road, Nottingham NG5 2FW, England
0115 9691660
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 1,115 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey and discretionary service charge isnt discretionary at all!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have not been to Ginza for a while so decided to try it again.
The restaurant decor hasnt changed in many years. The staff are pleasent and attentive, the food is ok but expensive. Your paying for more an experience than the food quality. For example a dish of plain udon noodles is £5.50 which is an extra!
Expect to pay between £18 - £30 a person with drinks on top.
My major gripe with our visit is the discretionary service charge of 12.5% was automatically added onto our bill total, which makes me think its not discretionary at all. This is the case regardless of group size. Be warned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great night if a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great Teppan Yaki, an excellent way to be served, it is a very entertaining meal if a little expensive we had the selection of meat at £28.00 per head.
The chef was entertaining, highly skilled and very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I turned up impromptu on a Friday night with a friend and they had no problems seating us. From the outside the building looks a bit like an electricity sub-station (bland and industrial), inside it gets a bit better, the usual lavish crimson colours of an oriental restaurant , in this case set with incongruous English pub furniture. There are a couple of seating areas forming semi circles for about eight people around a pagoda housing a hot place with attendant cook. It is not possible to eat in private at these settings so it is good to make merry with neighbour diners and enjoy the showmanship of the cook, drink Saki, toast your new friend’s health and share gossip. We opted for the seafood dishes and I was pleasantly surprised by the quantity a half lobster along with its simple barbecue presentation which ensured it tasted fresh and sweet. The meal was a drawn out affair as the cook prepared each course one by one for each waiting couple so that by the end we felt well satiated. Having finished the mains we were invited to change seating area for desserts. The choice of desserts was unappealing to us at it seemed to consist of childish ice creams so we just opted for the green teen.

At this restaurant I think most of the effort goes into the presentation, a showy affair of cooking with skilled flips of the spatula, the juggling of eggs and even spectacular flambé which provide good entertainment and great photo opportunities. This place is about having a fun time, watching the showy showmanship of presentation and enjoying the company of fellow dinners rather than good appreciation of fine food and wine.

The bill included a 10% service charge which I was happy to pay. Our extravagant meal for two with many drinks cost a little over £40 a head but we enjoyed three hours of Saki, entertaining cooking and good service. I’ve eaten at more expensive Japanese restaurants before now and this place provided as good as any of them. If you want to enjoy an easy social or even an exotic party experience this place should deliver for you if you go with the right attitude.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and husband really enjoy going to Ginza, treated really nice by all staff it is pricey but well worth it. We personally go every 3/4 months and the kids also enjoy wathcing the tricks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most seedy run down restaurant ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Try to avoid. What an awful place. Waited over an hour for food. Completely ignored by the chef at our table. Too busy over feeding another group. We were ignored and left hungry til after 9.30 (arrived at 8.30) this place has had it's glory. No more

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginza also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.