We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable and not as good as the Derby branch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zizzi - Nottingham

Zizzi - Nottingham
Fenchurch House | 12 Kings Street, Nottingham NG1 2AS, England
0115 950 9654
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zizzi - Nottingham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #458 of 1,150 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $16 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Just ½ a mile from the nearest transport link our Nottingham restaurant is a perfect stop after a romp around Sherwood Forest. The spacious restaurant is located just off the Old Market Square, within walking distance from the Royal Concert Hall and Ice Arena. With an open kitchen and some great food and service, the atmosphere is just right for an evening out or any special occasion.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Forgettable and not as good as the Derby branch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We came with high hopes having eaten at the Derby restaurant on a few occasions and had a good meal there. We came in to an entrance cluttered up with people standing about (why we couldnt quite work out?) we were then shown to a table and seated which was all fine until we were brought dirty plates to eat our starter from. We complained about these and were brought new ones but no apology was made which I felt was a big fail. The main courses were ok but not great and my pasta was definitely overcooked. Pudding again was disappointing with a mousse that was much too heavy to be classified as such. Best part of the meal was the wine if I'm honest.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    62
    50
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abergele
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very relaxed and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We went here on our last evening. The food and service was excellent, plenty of it. It was cosy to see the open oven for the pizzas and the staff were very pleasant. A very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Slightly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Visited on Saturday 1st and arrived at 7, we hadn't booked but wasn't fussed were we would eat so decided to pop in and ask on waiting time. Greated by a very polite waitress who said 20mins for a table for two then sat us near the bar. This waiting area was a free for all, rammed with people insufficient seating and located awkwardly outside the toilets. 20mins past and no one had moved but we accept that the 20mins waiting time would of been an estimate but being seated after 1 hour 10 is a little off the time she said, we would of gone elsewhere. We ordered drinks and olives which themselves took 15mins to arrive then we waited over an hour for our mains while everyone around us ordered after but got theirs. Our waiter seemed a sandwhich short of a picnic, we had to remind him about our drinks throughout the night as he kept forgetting them. The food was lovely but it was pushing 10pm by the time we had finished. The waiter gave us two free drinks to apologise but we'd of much rather of been out an hour earlier as we were meeting friends. Ironically the only thing that arrived quickly was the bill. Just over 3 hours from start to finish for a meal with no starters or deserts is very poor even for a Saturday night. This has left us not wanting to go back even though the food was nice. Such a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Italian fave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Zizzi is one of my fave restaurants! I have visited many all over the country and they are all delicious and very friendly! I never leave Zizzi's disappointed!
Beautiful Italian food, well priced & fantastic atmosphere at both lunch & dinner time!
They are also part of the tastecard list which gives one couple 2 for 1 on all food midweek! Huge bonus!
Would definitely recommend Zizzi's to anyone who likes Italian & in particular would recommend any if the calzones....amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb friendly Front of house - great evening and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Myself, my other half and by brother and his wife visited Zizzi’s Nottingham on Saturday 1st February and had a superb time!
The lady who was on front of house (dark haired) was extremely friendly, accommodating and fun. We hadn’t booked but were happy to wait, she kept us informed of when our table would become available, offered recommendations and got us a lovely table downstairs amongst all the hustle and bustle. The food was superb, staff friendly and atmosphere lush. When we were leaving the front of house member of staff seen us off, a real personal experience from start to finish.
Highly recommend and will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zizzi - Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.