We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Browns Brasserie

Tom Browns Brasserie
Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG147FB, England
115 - 966 3642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,102 restaurants in Nottingham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Food excellent, as was the service..but felt it was a bit pricey!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    127
    47
    24
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Variable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The food can be good, can be average. Service can be good or indifferent. Great location and parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poisoned my mother - people with allergies stay away !!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My mother is a coeliac, which means that she can't eat flour.We went in a big party and PRE-ORDERED our food. They were fully informed about her medical condition and still managed to serve her food containing flour. She is currently being violently sick in the toilet and having extreme cramps in her stomach as i write this.

So for a 'award' winning place this is a complete and utter disgrace. That they were so pathetically organised that they can't even mange to serve food correctly when pre informed. I recommended that anyone that has a diet or alternative needs then a standard menu does not even consider this place as a choice as they will most probably fail miserably to fulfil your expectations.

My sister has already phoned them about this matter to which they have replied as 'human error'. People with peanut allergies should obviously not go here as you may not walk out alive. It may sound dramatic but would you trust these people to provide food for other specific medical conditions?!?!?!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robintombrowns, Owner at Tom Browns Brasserie, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We as a restaurant are always very accommodating when it comes to special dietary requirements. We deal with this situation on a daily basis, so I was very upset to learn of your mothers allergic reaction at our restaurant, we take these issues extremely seriously and this is an isolated incident. All of our procedures have been reviewed and we have now updated our website and per-order system so this cannot happen again. On the website order form, all customers with allergies who have pre-ordered meals, will be advised to make themselves known to the management on arrival at the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“They know how to get it right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

I went to a live music night with some friends, and I can honestly say I had the best night in a,long time. The food and service was excellent and the band that was playing was amazing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Lunch time delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My Wife,Daughter and I have visited Tom Browns several times in the past and have always been extremely satisfied!
On this occasion,it was just my Wife and I and it was a 'first' as we had never dined here at Lunch time before!
What a nice experience!
The 'Earlybird' Menu is available at for lunch and is more than sufficient to satisfy our culinary needs!
The menu is changed monthly and there is a choice of 3 to 4 dishes on every course! The best thing about Tom Browns is the freshness of the food,most ingrediants are locally sourced and the food is seved quickly and efficiently by the very young staff.I have no complaints about the quality,temperature or presentation of the food,but I do feel that sometimes the portions are a little small,yes,there are plenty of side orders to make the meal larger,but in my opinion the original portions are a little small! They are however delicious and make me return time after time.
The A la Carte menu is very extensive and there is a good if 'unspecialised' wine list
The restaurant has a nice low key but classy feel to it,something which it,s sister restaurants in Farndon and Nottingham lack!
All in all,a very nice restaurant,consistently good and well worth a visit,particularly at lunchtime

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Browns Brasserie also viewed

 
Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Tom Browns Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Browns Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.