We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgusting hole, avoid at ALL costs, should be condemned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rufford Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rufford Hotel
Save
You added Rufford Hotel to your Saves list
53 Melton Road | West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 7NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Kimberley025
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A disgusting hole, avoid at ALL costs, should be condemned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We arrived to be greeted by a mobile number stuck on the front desk for us to call for service. On calling it eventually someone turned up and gave us out room key. We carefully walked up to our room (the stair carpet was rucked up and dangerous). The door to our room was already wide open when we got there. The sheets were unironed and it looked like the bed covers had been just thrown over by the last occupant. The sheets were so thin and had holes in them and you could see the stripes on the mattress through them. The bed looked VERY unsavoury an no way could we have even laid on it let alone got between the covers for fear of being eaten alive. The windows had opaque security glass which had been screwed into place. So not only could we not see out of the window we also couldn't open it either. The fire exit door in the room had been padlocked closed and the only way out was top smash something on the door to release it!!! Like you would have time in a fire to find something to smash it with.... The tv screen was filthy and not just with dust either. The bathroom... What a joke. My boyfriend had to spend a penny while we were in the room and had to stand in the bedroom and aim at the toilet as there wasnt enough room to actually get into the bathroom itself let alone close the door as it was too small. So much for privacy!! There was 1 handtowel each, no soap or anything in the so called bathroom either. The place was filthy and disgusting. We went to see the guy on reception and demanded to change rooms. He gave us a key to a room on the 4th floor and when we got there the key didnt work. On complaining yet again to the guy on reception he had a couldnt care less attitude, wouldnt get the manager when asked (he said there wasnt one there) and the other guy who stood there looking like he was on drugs said and did nothing to help either as I doubt he could give a damn either as the hotel already had the money for the rooms. Friends of ours had also got a room booked in the hotel and on being given the key they went and looked at it and yet again the sheets were not ironed and it looked like the last occupant had just thrown the covers over it and left. They looked under the covers to find the sheets were BLOOD STAINED. They too left in disgust.

This hotel should be looked at by the health and safety people and closed down. It is disgusting.
UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE STAY IN THIS HOTELS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
How to describe this hotel? A total ---- hole to be avoided at all costs. With a terrible staff to boot.... If the rooms are this bad then what is the kitchen like? Doesnt bear thinking about.. Its a death trap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    0
    4
    12
See reviews for
1
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I was the the one that put together the stag do mentioned by Mike a couple of reviews back, it was booked through a company called Weeknds Direct so please be aware of this if you use them, they wouldn't actually tell me the hotel name until i had paid for it, i now can understand why.
I'm still having an ongoing battle with the company, i'm trying to get some money back and stop them from using this place.
Please do not stop at this hotel, i can't think of one good thing to say about it, the place should be shut down and the people that run it locked up for charging people to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangebup
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This would go down as the worst hotel we stayed at while touring the UK. When we arrived the receptionist could not find the key for our room. When he eventually located it we made our way up the narrow stairs to find the room had not been cleaned or made up from the previous occupants and it was a twin and not a double like we had ordered. The receptionist then had a discussion with the cleaner?/handyman (neither one spoke very good english)and we were eventually gven another room.. The room was small and shabby as was the ensuite bathroom.
Things didn't get any better the following morning. The rate included an english breakfast. but when we arrived in the dining room at 8:00 they told us they were not ready and could we come back in half and hour also they had run of of supplies due to ordering problems and only had eggs and baked beans for breakfast. When we went to make a cup of tea the water in the urn was only lukewarm and nearly empty.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This "hotel" was truely unbelieveable - I thought that these places were regulated by Health & Safety at least!
We booked through a Stag Break Company and was told that it wasn't anything special but it was CLEAN. It was anything but, cockroaches & mold in the bathroom, dirty towels with stains on, previous occupants pubic hairs in the bed, dirty cups left in room, skid mark left in the toilet...the list could go on.
6 of our original group who had already paid for the Rufford as part of the "Deal" booked in to the Travel Lodge in Nottingham instead.
No one in the remaining 13 of our group slept in the bed - all slept on top with clothes on and layed own clothes on the pillow - in our room we had to leave the fire escape open all night to get rid of the smell of stale urine.
We complained to the receptionist about the state of the room when we arrived & he said he'd sort it - the only thing that was done was the poo was gone & some bleach put down the toilet!
Needless to say, if the rooms are like that god knows what the kitchen is like! No one in our group of 20 had breakfast
*******DO NOT BE TAKEN IN BY "superb property offering a 5-star service at 2-star prices" - it's a dump and should be condemned*************

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

A friend booked a twin room for two nights - we were watching the 20/20 world cup. From the outside the 'hotel' was just about passable. The inside however was simply unbelievable. The rooms were dirty - the carpets and beds were heavily stained. The fittings were hanging off the walls. The window frames were rotting and falling out. Rubbish was strewn over the floor. Needless to say, we did not stay! it is incredible that this hotel survives. I strongly suspect they dont get repeat business.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarrenx, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I'm not joking, this place was a nightmare. Half decent website lured us in. The smell of urine should have warned us on the staircase though. The twin was worse than a student bedsit. The carpets hadn't been cleaned for weeks, the bed was covered in paint from a botched redecoration job and the bathroom was a hygiene risk. It did have coffee making equipment, but since it had no waste bin, the cupboard and drawers were used by previous guests instead. Seeing the state of the hotel, we decided against eating breakfast.... We did go to the breakfast room mid morning to discover lots of half eaten plates waiting to be cleared away. Would I recommend it or return - never!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Fire doors locked from outside and windows nailed shut! "Debris" in the bed sheets which were unspeakable. Smell of mould and decay. Absoloutely disgusting.....AVOID!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rufford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufford Hotel

Address: 53 Melton Road | West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rufford Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.