We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Lodge City Guest House

Greenwood Lodge City Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Greenwood Lodge City Guest House to your Saves list
Greenwood Lodge City Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Third Avenue | Sherwood Rise, Nottingham NG7 6JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Nottingham B&B and Inns
sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked a break as my daughter is studying at Nottingham Trent and we wanted to explore the city and spend some time with her. Greenwood Lodge is on the outskirts of the city but there are plenty of transport links if like us you decide not to bring the car - there is also a lovely walk over the recreation ground to the centre. The house is lovely, clean and has everything you need - full of antiques and beautiful furnishings. It is also excellent value for money and in fact we arranged to have the triple room so that my daughter could stay as well - a very welcome break from her final year studies. The breakfast is ordered the night before and there is a good selection - fruit, cereals, cooked options, homemade marmalade, jam and amazing oatcakes. Doug and Sue are wonderful hosts - full of useful tips and information - really feel we have made two new friends......thank you (good luck with your piano results Sue)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
26
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We found this B& B tidy and clean. The proprietors were polite and businesslike. The Car park was very small a converted backyard but big enough for 4 or 5 cars. The road to the B&B was obviously a small lane at one time and the entrance was once the backdoor. One of the proprietors explained the house was once on the edge of the city of Nottingham. The land must have been sold off as the front to the house now faces the garden fence of next door.

The house has many ornaments and antiques everywhere so the proprietors do not allow small children to stay there.

Breakfast was included and was very good 5 out of 5 the proprietors have made big effort to give their guests plenty of chose.

I would say this B& B would suite quiet couples rather then noisy groups or families with small children. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We found this B& B tidy and clean not suitable for children many ornaments and antiques everywhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to go to the Capital FM Arena and to see our son. The room was spacious, the bedlinen was fresh and clean, and - hurrah! - there was "proper" milk for our tea! Plenty of space in the bathroom, and loads of extra touches. The breakfast was terrific with plenty of choice and we didn't eat again all day until the evening! Very handy for car park and tram (ps: discount on tram if you have theatre/show tickets). Thanks to Doug and Sue for making our stay so enjoyable. Would certainly book again. Judy and Ken

Room Tip: Our room was No 1 and we didn't see in any others. It had a large window, so plenty of light, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited Nottingham to go to the theatre - could have gone anywhere to see the show but was drawn to Greenwood Lodge as I had stayed last year and wanted to experience it again.
The 120 mile drive (each way) was worth it - secure parking was a must and I felt safe leaving my precious car in the courtyard.
Room number One was first class - neat, tidy, clean etc and full of beautiful furniture.
If you like Laura Ashley you would love this place.
Again - lovely breakfast.
Super place to stay - forget the corporates - stay at Greenwood.
Well done and thanks to Doug and his "much younger" wife Sue.
Yours etc
John Howard
Norwich

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aluycious, Owner at Greenwood Lodge City Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us.

We do appreciate your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay once again and will look forward to your next visit. It is always a pleasure to have you here and "my much younger wife"
will ensure the standards that you have come to expect are repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting our daughter. It's comfortable, spotless and homely with good facilities, we really appreciated things like having fresh milk and a roomy bathroom Safe off road parking and proximity to the city centre and a host who was friendly but not intrusive. The breakfast was very good Thank you

Room Tip: Book via hotel website for more personal service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aluycious, Owner at Greenwood Lodge City Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us

We greatly appreciate your comments and it helps us to maintain our standards to be enjoyed bt everyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our wedding anniversary. It is a beautifully decorated and furnished B&B with little touches that make so much difference such as real milk in your room and a table for wash bags in the bathroom. And yes it was a proper bathroom with a huge bath with a shower over ( we stayed in room no.2 with the king size four poster)! Very friendly and helpful owners, excellent breakfasts and in a quiet location but right by bus routes and 5mins drive from the park and ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aluycious, Owner at Greenwood Lodge City Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us.

We always like to hear the our guests have enjoyed their stay here as it provides us with the confidence necessary to maintain our standards for others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Greenwood Lodge is an excellent B&B, just what you hope for. We had a spacious double room, prettily furnished and well-equipped. The shower-room was also a good size, with a small table to put down our wash bags. Both room and landings had a stock of books and magazines to borrow. Even had a flask of real milk, not UHT - bliss for compulsive tea-drinkers like us! Breakfast was the best we had had for a while, and much better than the more expensive hotel we had stayed at the night before. Point to note is that the owners ask you to let them know what time you expect to arrive. Do that and arrive when you say as if they are not there, you cannot park in their carpark because they lock the gates when they are out. Roads nearby do not readily accommodate parking either, as we discovered to our cost. It was our fault, but worth noting if you are visiting. We wil remember next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwood Lodge City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Lodge City Guest House

Address: Third Avenue | Sherwood Rise, Nottingham NG7 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwood Lodge City Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Greenwood Lodge City Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood Lodge City Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.