We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Nottingham Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Nottingham Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Nottingham Central
Maid Marian Way | New City House, Nottingham NG1 6DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Christmas shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we came to the Christmas market in Nottingham for a change of scenery. the hotel was easy to find as it is on a main road ideally situated for the centre of Nottingham. there is an "Arndale" car park a short walk from the hotel that offers parking for £3.50 per day or part of a day. however, the car park is very tight and I would not like to think that I was negotiating the very tight bends on the way up in a large car.
the rooms are spacious although the bathroom is quite small by comparison and is tight when sitting on the loo. the shower is quite big and the water was hot and plentiful. the rooms were clean and tidy.
we ate breakfast in the hotel as it was included in the price. there was not a great deal of choice but there was sufficient to enable a full English breakfast and there was a reasonable choice of cereal and fruit and yoghurt. the food was good.
staff were very helpful and the price paid was very reasonable and I would not hesitate in going back to this hotel if I were to visit Nottingham again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
33
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arriving in reception during the late afternoon, it was not an auspicious start to our stay to find four very disgruntled ladies ahead of us. Somehow their room bookings had been 'lost' and the hotel was now full. The poor chap on the desk was doing his best to sort things out. As I understood it, he managed to find them rooms in a sister hotel not far away, put a refund on one of their cards and credit them with funds to cover extra taxi travel. It was with some trepidation that we presented our credentials after the ladies had left. However, despite a bit of confusion caused by two of our three key cards initially being issued for the same room, we managed to secure our three rooms.

Though the hotel is very much a 'no frills' establishment, we find it good value for money. We stayed here last year around the same time. It is clean, comfortable and very conveniently placed for walking into the heart of the city as well as for the castle and waterfront areas. I was impressed with the shower: all too often these are unsatisfactory in hotels we have visited, being without much pressure and of unreliable temperature. However, our room's shower was fine. True it was a fixed shower head (though partially adjustable) and powered via mixer taps, but it gave a good pressure and a decent, reliable temperature.

The NCP car park across the way doesn't seem to get overly full (during a November weekend), but is a bit of a trek if you have large/heavy cases. Also beware of the cost. Though a validated ticket (done at the Travelodge reception) entitles the bearer to 24hrs stay at £9, once you go beyond that period the fees rise. We arrived at about 11.15am on the Saturday and departed shortly after 5pm the following day, which cost £19 in total.

Though we didn't take advantage of it, the buffet style breakfast they offer (advertised as 'all you can eat' and free for kids) looks to be quite good value. Probably not top notch grub, but likely to match the nearby Wetherspoon's in terms of quality and quantity. Maybe we'll give it a try next time.

Room Tip: If you can, we recommend asking for a room that faces away from the city centre. The windows are obv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here a few times, when going to the theatre in nottingham city.The hotel is cleaned and well maintained, Staff friendly and helpful.
Was noisy at times, but it is city, and was only for short while.
Downside is the parking is away from the hotel, and while its a good price, its a puplic carpark. We used St James street and the lift isnt working at present, so we had to drag christmas shopping up several flights of stairs !! not the hotels fault though,
For the price paid, i would always stay here if wanting a treat, or meal and wine in town, worth the money paid.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as I was visiting the city for job interviews and house viewings and catching up with friends at the same time. I didn't spend too much time in the hotel but it was a very pleasant room to stay in. The bed was soooo comfy as I've learnt to expect from travelodges... The bathroom was clean and well presented, the only let down was the shower water pressure was very weak. I didn't try anything from the menu nor did I order breakfast, but that was personal preference... The only other small thing was that I couldn't leave my luggage with reception as I arrived two hours only, not really a deal breaker though...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean and modern along with a great location. No car park but nearby multi story car park £9-50 for 24hrs when ticket is validated by the hotel. Walking distance to all Nottingham places of interest and shops.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1st time stopping here. Great central location and easy walk from train station. Room was comfortable and pleasant. Only downfall for me was no hairdryer but I'm female. Breakfast was great but would have preferred fried eggs not scrabble. Will definitely stop again. Cheap n cheerful

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Admittedly, this was just intended as a convenient stop over, but it failed in every respect. Grubby exterior, miserable interior with scruffy youths wandering around. No place to bring someone you like. Uncomfortable bed. No bath. If you want to give your partner a loud message about your feelings, 'treat' them to a stay here.

Room Tip: Find a proper hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Nottingham Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nottingham Central

Address: Maid Marian Way | New City House, Nottingham NG1 6DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Nottingham Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel Nottingham
Travel Lodge Nottingham
Nottingham Travel Lodge
Nottingham Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Nottingham Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.