We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Nottingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dakota Nottingham to your Saves list
Dakota Nottingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake View Drive | Sherwood Park, Nottingham NG15 0EA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Nottingham - Sherwood Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the third year running my family have met for a Christmas meal at the Dakota, travelling locally, from the south and the north. The last two years have been very good and money well spent. This year...new management perhaps? The hotel is ok, expensive for what it is. The receptionist needs more training on customer relations. The restaurant just wasn't good. The food was ok, but the service was poor. At first they denied I had booked, then, then made me book again, they changed the time again!
The restaurant was empty, no atmosphere and no christmas spirit. The menu was basic, NOT the menu on their website. The serving staff all seemed to be in training, it would be interesting to see them when the place was busy! The bar is very expensive, and they ran out of Jim Beam. Annoyingly they add 10% tip to every bill which is greedy.
A real shame as the past two years have been special, but 2014 is the last time we will go here.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    72
    39
    11
See reviews for
21
97
2
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good location close to M1 but far enough away so as not to be troubled by traffic noise. Clean and comfortable rooms, very helpful and accommodating staff. I had an early start before the kitchens were open for breakfast (5.30am) the night staff very obligingly laid on a comprehensive continental style breakfast for which I was very grateful, I even received a courtesy call before my stay to confirm that an early breakfast could be accommodated.
A professionally run hotel well worth booking if it is near to where you are working or close enough for your leisure activities.
I don't understand the comments made by previous guests that complained about the comfort of the beds. I stayed on the 5th floor and found them very comfortable and the bedding was clean and fresh.

Room Tip: I found the fifth floor quiet and the beds very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you during your stay.

I hope to see you back again soon.

With kind regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 6th December after our Christmas party, was very impressed with the hotel. The reception is open and a very comfortable meeting area. bedrooms are spacious and modern, with all you need for a over night stay. Bathroom bright and clean with a lovely shower, The breakfast was great and a good choice of hot and cold foods. All in all had a very nice stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dera Guest

Many thanks for your feedback . I hope you enjoyed your Christmas due and hope to welcome you back soon.

With Best Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

room was lovely and large and bathroom was impressive. But it was so noisy, we were on third floor and could still hear music from function room! Also walls very thin, so noise from other rooms.
Restaurant very expensive but good location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

I am sorry to learn you coud hear the music from our new function room, which is at the back of the hotel and has no rooms above them.

I will investigate and ensure we identify rooms that could be affected and allocate more appropriatly.

With my apologies

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was impressed on all fronts;amazing hotel,friendly staff.firm but comfortable bed;clean shower.busy hotel,only bad thing really was that the poor staff could not work the blinds very well in the bar/grill,but neither could ilook forward to visiting again.great base for creswell crags,go ape,Nottingham castle,and Sherwood Forest.simply lovely.thanks so much

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review. I was happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a one night break. Busy hotel. Contemporary style but with a relaxed feel. Came across as '4 star'. Reception Team were all fantastic, from making the reservation and quickly replying to email queries, to a very warm and friendly welcome and then helping when I left my coat in the bedroom. We ate in the Gill on a Saturday evening. We both chose ribeye steaks, they were very well presented with a decent portion of hand made chips. Unfortunately whilst tasty, both steaks were well overcooked and very dry. The side order of glazed carrots was delicious. We overheard a waiter apologising to another table for the delay in bringing their desserts and she said the Restaurant was very busy. Whilst we appreciate that, being busy is not an excuse for slow service, surely the management would want the Restaurant to be 'busy' and should ensure staffing levels in the kitchen are appropriate. Our table reservation was at 8.30pm, we ordered a main course only and we left at 10.15pm, cancelling our dessert order as it was taking a rather long time. Overall we'd rate the food as ok. It was nice, we ate it all, but it certainly didn't represent 'good' value for money compared with other local restaurants. We stayed in an executive bedroom on the fifth floor and agree with all the other comments regarding the hard mattresses, it wouldn't stop us from staying again though. The room was quiet and we appreciated the little extras such as complimentary waters, good range of hot drinks available on the in-room service tray, chocolate biscuits, bath robes and newspaper in the morning. Bar service was good and freshly made cocktails were well made. The bedroom and bathroom we stayed in was showing some signs of general wear and tear, however it was very clean and of good size. Definitely recommend the hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive room on the fifth floor, ask for one away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon.

My apologies for the slow service and eventhough we had 7 staff serving the time allocation of guests dining that evening could have been managed better in order to assure a better dining experience. I will ensure to pass this on to the restaurant team.

Best regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall very cool hotel first impressions are good with warm inviting contemporary furnishings and friendly reception staff, asked for twin beds but after the second room was offered with still a double we gave up on that (bed not that comfy as in other hotels ive stayed) be careful walking round the bed as the wood frame juts out on the corners, I left with bruises to prove this and I was sober! room generally clean although the full length mirror in the bedroom hadn't been cleaned and the dust showed up in the lights but everything else was clean, lovely heated mirror in the bathroom very good idea for after a steamy shower which was gorgeous and spacious.
We only stayed one eve (sat) but did have a late 2pm checkout (excellent idea after a night out) cant comment on breakfast as we slept through it but the food we had in the bar area the next day was very good we had the club sandwich n flat bread/hummus n chicken caesar salad the fire was on making it all the better to really relax.
I would stay here again even though its a short drive to the centre of Nottingham (about 10mins by car) it was in a lovely quiet setting very private and away from the usual city life and noise that surrounds most others.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTSP, Manager at Dakota Nottingham, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

I was happy to learn you had a great stay and lovely night out with friends. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakota Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Nottingham

Address: Lake View Drive | Sherwood Park, Nottingham NG15 0EA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Nottingham - Sherwood Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dakota Nottingham is ideally located at junction 27 of the M1, this stylish and modern hotel offers easy routes into and out of the city, making the perfect venue for leisure guests who are wanting to explore Nottinghamshire. This beautifully designed hotel offers 92 bedrooms with air conditioning, luxury linens and internet access. Then at the end of the day enjoy a cocktail and fresh modern cooking in our bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dakota Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham - Sherwood Park Hotel Nottingham
Dakota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.