We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquitos

Chiquitos
The cornerhouse | Burton Street, Nottingham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #681 of 1,182 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went at dinner time and we were starving!! The last time I came to this chiqitos I was dissapointed with the portion size however, this time we got plenty of food all well cooked and well prepared. We decided both to have a coke because although the cocktails here a beautiful they are expencive. But as a nice touch they had recently added some new cocktails to their drinks menu and the waiter brought over some complimentary cocktails. We were very very happy customers and will definately be coming back !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Dropped in here for lunch with my son. The restaurant was quiet (it was Monday!) Everywhere was immaculate and we were greeted at once by a very charming young lady. Service was quick and efficient, served with a smile. There were lots of options - standard or lunchtime menus could be mixed & matched - Food was well presented, nice & hot & very tasty. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice food, nice cocktails & complimentry popcorn whilst you wait :) didnt take us long to be seated despite it being a busy saturday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“S.a.b.e.n.a. - Such a bad experience never again..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We decided to try Chiquitos for the first time as it was convenient being next to the cinema. The menu was the usual tex mex - fajitas and burgers which was perfect. The restaurant seemed understaffed and this was evident seeing the speed of the service. The prices were in line with other chains such as TGIFs so our expectation was for something similar on the plate. What a huge disappointment for all the family - the fajitas were overcooked, the chicken burnt, steak small and dry, children's chicken looked like it was boiled in a bag and very unappetising - only decent dish was the kids burger. Commenting to the staff I was told on a number of occasions that the portions etc were decided by head office which therefore leads me to believe that all the restaurants in the chain will be of similar standard so will certainly not be going to them again :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Understaffed poor service and experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to the cinema location for lunch with kids before a movie. It was the first Monday of School holidays and the place was quiet on arrival and there appeared to be only one lady waitressing and tending the bar.
The food in my opinion is over priced and poor quality, for a Mexican restaurant to not be able to serve fresh salsa but use a jarred version is shocking. The side of tortilla chips was paltry and stale.
There were quite a few senior appearing members of staff in a back office that you could see from the restaurant floor. As the restaurant got busier the one waitress couldn't cope but no one came to assist. We waited 20 minutes for a drink and part of our order was wrong, a vegetarian bean chimichanga turned out to be beef!! Due to the slow service and food delivery, there was no time to replace the food as our movie was about to start .
I was thoroughly disappointed and would not visit again. Spend your money somewhere better!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquitos also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Chiquitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquitos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.