We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square, Nottingham NG1 6LG, England
0115 989 5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 50 Attractions in Nottingham
Attraction details
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to see this show a few days ago. It was dreadful. Su Pollard was very much underused - the Hoff was fine but Barney Harwood was appalling. Whoever thought of casting him wants sacking! He has all the stage presence and personality of a wet fish. With no idea of how to work an audience, it was as if he could barely be bothered to speak his lines. The shows single saving grace was Ben Nickless who played Smee. In fact, the shows 1 star rating that I've given it is because of him. My advice? Go and see a local Amateur panto. You'll have more laughs and see more entertaining characters than this load of rubbish can offer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    96
    26
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peter Pan at Theatre Royal Nottingham”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just so disappointing- have taken my daughter and grandchildren for several years to the Christmas pantomime and each year it has been excellent…sadly not this one. The script was poor and the show generally lacklustre…particularly Peter Pan who was so dull! Credit to the polished professionalism of "Mimi" and "Mr Smee" who gave it their all in spite of the rest of the cast lacking zest and originality. The others didn't seem to care( and by the end neither did we!). Oh,and even the "Hoff" failed to impress, such a lame 'villain' whose 'forgotten' lines,feigned or otherwise lacked any comedy timing.
We usually come home singing one of the memorable songs and trying all the catchphrases on the rest of the family. Not this time…unremarkable, unmemorable and unworthy of the £104 ticket price.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, always a pleasure to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently visited to watch Peter Pan, on Christmas eve.The Pantomime was fun, plenty of laughs for all ages, and would recommend going if you can - its on till 12th Jan 2014 I think. The Theatre itself never disappoints as it is very astatically pleasing , with a gorgeous chandelier that twinkles away and it has the traditional /old fashioned (but combatable!) feel you want when going to watch any production.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are so lucky to have such a wealth of variety come to the Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall.

The Theatre Royal is a beautiful old theatre - last March Derren Brown filmed his show there as his last tour came to an end and the theatre looked stunning on the television! Musicals from the West End visit the theatre and we were lucky to have David Hasselhoff on pantomime this year!

The Royal Concert Hall attracts more gigs and and comedians. Recently Russell Brand visited on his tour and we also saw Jools Holland just before Christmas which was excellent. The acoustics are great.

Be warned, the drinks prices at the bars are very expensive...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Peter Pan Pantomime”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Such a disappointment after a great Cinderella last year. Singing and dancing not up to much apart from the local kids who were great. Didn't think The Hoff put in a full shift and wonder if it was all a bit much for him. Peter Pan wore the same outfit from start to finish and did a lot of random flying about but couldn't find a bit of glitz for the finally. Tinker bell was a fairy on roller skates who did not fly. Sorry Theatre Royal but I know you could do much better and it's not a cheap night out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.