We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoying tour guide - very school trip feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galleries of Justice

Galleries of Justice
Shire Hall | High Pavement, Nottingham NG1 1HN, England
01159 520 555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 63 attractions in Nottingham
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This interactive museum takes you through a realistic rendering of the 14th-century penal system, from crime to punishment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Annoying tour guide - very school trip feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went as a couple on the tour which I think was mistake number 1. From the experience it's something to do either as a family or on a school trip. Once the tour was over it was interesting to walk around the prison area and see what you wanted to, inc. a hanging noose.

We found the first tour guide "Jack" to be very awkward and annoying. The second tour guide "prison guard" was not annoying but still awkward - maybe it's because I'm not a kid?!

Worth a go if you're bored but wouldn't recommend. Go to the caves, their much more interesting!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    148
    30
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK - but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A bit sad. They could make more of this, but guess finance is an issue. My ten year old daughter enjoyed it.

You can buy a combination ticket for this and the ancient caves of Nottingham giving a bit of a saving.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprising informative & great narrative experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a impromptu visit and we were impressed by the guided tour. Well worth the experience and very informative for history buffs. The visit is about 90mins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beer Festival 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great beer festival, I came with my friends, Only comment I would say is that it was little bit of a mess (cigarette ends everywhere) Have you heard of a ashtrays? The rooms was cleaned to a high standard (well done cleaners, you certainly need a pay rise before/after the beer festival. Cheers to you!

The cafe divine was a fantastic place to eat, my friend did enjoy his cake. Although, I am confused is the cafe owned by the Galleries of Justice or privately owned?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had fun at the Galleries of Justice. We got in cheaper as we had bought a double ticket for the Nottingham caves. It was a load better than the caves. The actors / guides were great and you really got a feel for how things had been.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleries of Justice also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Galleries of Justice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleries of Justice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galleries of Justice to your Saves list