We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, let down by uncomfortable bed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, let down by uncomfortable bed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a gig at the Stealth nightclub. Excellent location for city centre, Theatre Royal, University & the club. After eventually locating it (as it's in a pedestrian area so doesn't show up on the satnav) & then finding the car park, we were very impressed all in all. It would have had an excellent rating had the bed been as comfortable as other budget chains, I think it needs to look at replacing all the beds as Travelodge are now doing, it makes such a difference to the overall experience.

Room Tip: Had room facing the pedestrian area & didn't hear a thing from outside all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Paul936,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    137
    120
    55
    55
See reviews for
59
129
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We always stay in Holiday Inn Express, in any city that we travel to. Some are a massive mistake, some are like palaces. This is neither.
When the advert tells you that the car park is a couple of minutes away: this is a lie. I'm from Nottingham and up past the sex shop and opposite a nasty old pub is the car park. Let's pray you can get a parking space (that they supposedly reserve for you if you pay them) because they get arsey about redeeming your charges if you park anywhere else except for this car park.
The foyer is pleasant, the reception staff seem a bit strange. Not only are they a bit dismissive when you arrive (as if you should know where things) and later you see them with their shirt tails hanging out whilst they smoke a fag in their staff smoking area next to the front doors: classy.
Our room was lovely. I don't really get the pillows thing, but they seem to like it so whatever. The first night, and bear in mind we stayed in January, it was tipping it down and the rain was cold. I know this because I now live in a very hot country.
In the middle of the night I woke up, oh my god, almost choking. I was totally dehydrated and sleeping in what seemed like a sauna. The thermostat never really moved away from HOT during the night.
I was surprised by how dodgy the showers were. The curtains are constantly tainted with mold or something. Just nasty.
I hate breakfast at Holiday Inn Express in the UK. Why? Try the ones abroad, you'll see what I mean. The menu states that they serve a selection of teas (including the one I drink: Earl Grey). Imagine my shock when I asked the catering assistant for Earl Grey and she said, "what's that? is it a brand? I don't think we do that one." Good times. Add to that the fact that they NEVER do bacon and no one knows why.
Basically, unlike other Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in, these UK ones are just for getting your head down. This one could do with some changes like underground parking or, good thermostats and clean showers.
Still, it's not Premier Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear electricgeisha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on a wim since all other hotels were booked up with it being Valentines weekend. As soon as I got to the hotel the staff were all so welcoming and friendly they couldn't do more for me. I asked the receptionist if they could advice me of a restaurant that wasn't fully booked, the girl on the desk said leave with her, I was then amazed to hear she got me a table at ASK on valentines night!! (Saved my life with the Mrs) The room was a typical holiday inn express beautifully modern and spotless! In the morning I woke up the be greated with a delious hot breakfast in the Cafe my only gripe would be how busy it was but then it is a huge hotel and this was 9am! Would I stay here again? Absolutely I'm already planning a boys night out for next month the location is excellent for a pub crawl.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice (at online reduced rates) as it is an excellent location with free breakfast. However the car park has to be one of the worst in the world - it is perilously narrow and smells like a urinal. The hotel rooms were alright to sleep in, but were not particularly clean (Dusty telephone and stained sofa). The breakfast selection is basic but does the job. The pain au chocolates were tasty treats, but the rest is just okay. If you need a cheap central base then this is worth going to, but it's not worth the non-reduced price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear TheLuckyDucky,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was INSUFFERABLY AWFUL!!!!!!! The staff when we arrived were incredibly rude and messed up our room reservation, she didn't make eye contact or explain what she was going to do about it. We were told breakfast was until 11am and it was actually till 10am. We had to ask for a knife, plates, butter etc when we eventually received our token loaf of bread between the entire hotel who was also complaining about the communication breakdown. We were offered a £1.50 refund each, which is an absolute joke! After negotiating we were given a whopping £3.50 each; brilliant! The breakfast area was filthy! Additionally the kettle in both rooms did not work so we couldn't even have a beverage in the morning nor could we have one in the breakfast area as there were no mugs!!! The receptionist did not even apologise until the very end and when we asked for the manager we were told she didn't know where he was and couldn't go and fetch him! Despite this the location was convenient and the rooms were clean, which was the only good thing about our stay.

Room Tip: Don't go here.... EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Aimee720,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to further discuss your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Nottingham.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Arrived in Nottingham and had to find somewhere to park as the hotel does not have it's own parking.
Rang the hotel reception to find out where we should park and the lady was most unhelpful, almost as if I was stupid that I couldn't find the nearby car park.
The car park she told us to park in was small and was full so we had to wait for a car to leave before we could go in.
Good location but that is all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Abbiekhall,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We regret to see the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. We are glad to see the high scores for Cleanliness, Value, and Rooms. The reviews we receive are an integral part of our goal to provide the best accommodations as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel provided us with somewhere to stay centrally in the city. It was clean but nothing special. The shower was shabby and there was mould on the ceiling. The best thing about the free breakfast was the coffee and juice. There was not enough cooked breakfast selection with only sausage, scrambled egg and beans on offer. The scrambled egg tasted disgusting, resembling the flavour and texture of cottage cheese. The staff seemed pretty useless, getting in the way and poking about at the food to tidy up.
This hotel served the purpose of providing is with somewhere generally pleasant to stay. It was nothing to rave about.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear lauraupton,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the breakfast being served was not up to the standards you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We do take the reviews we receive very seriously to help us identify areas where improvement may be needed. Your comments have been shared with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your candid review. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Address: 7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham is located in the stylish Chapel Bar area, just off Market Square, the hotel is ideally located for all of the city center attractions, businesses and events. The hotel is within walking distance of the Capital FM Arena, National Ice Centre, Theatres, Universities, concert venues and tram, train and bus terminals. Donington Park and Sherwood Forest are easily reached by car. The hotel is set alongside pavement cafes and bars and offers the opportunity to experience the vibrant Nottingham night life. Those customers needing a quiet night will find the hotel glazing to be very effective in keeping the external noise out. Whether your visit is for business or leisure the hotel team will do all they can to ensure that you have a pleasant, comfortable and trouble free stay. The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham features a contemporary late night bar bar and a complimentary breakfast for all of our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre Hotel Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.