We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fuss Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Leeds
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fuss Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just had a thoroughly enjoyable mid-week stay here. Warm and professional welcome at reception when checking in. Bedroom corridors looking and smelling fresh and welcoming. Room 410 on top floor exceptionally well presented with an efficient heating/air con system which kept the cold weather outside at bay. Wide and comfortable bed and pillows. Hot water piping hot and plentiful. Only minor gripe was lighting in bedroom could have been better i.e. a floor lamp in far corner by easy chair. Breakfast enjoyable and the scrambled egg was a vast improvement on the last HIEX I stayed at. It did get very busy after about 8.15am and not everyone understands the self clear etiquette.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    137
    120
    55
    55
See reviews for
59
129
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very central hotel, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. Unfortunately the window in the room I stayed in could not be open, the central heating was on so high we had to sleep with the fan on, which is just above your head and would give you a stiff neck in the morning :( it was so hot we had to take several showers to be able to cope. Room temperature about 38 degrees!!! Such a shame! No toiletries provided, but you can get them from the reception.
Unfortunately I would not like to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear susanna911,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is really nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room and liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room temperature issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 1 night (Saturday) and paid just over £60 for a double with breakfast. We were given the keys to Room 316 and upon approaching the room we found the corridor had a musty odour and was extremely warm, when we opened the door to our room this smell was more intense and the room was even hotter. The first thing we tried to do was open the window for some fresh air, but to our dismay we found that they were all sealed!! We turned the air conditioning onto the coldest setting (17 degrees) and on full power (which you could not even hear or feel so we were not even sure if it was working). We left the air con on and went out into Nottingham and came back after about 2hours and the room was still stifling and musty so we called reception to see if they could check the air con to see if it was working. They said it was and that we could change to a “smoking room” if we wanted as that is all they had left, we looked at this room and again it was hot but this time it smelt of stale cigarettes so we turned this down and stayed in room 316. They gave us a small fan for our room, which did help somewhat to move the air but it was still hot and muggy

The bedding was clean and the room was a good size, but it was not the cleanest of places. The shower head and black mold in the holes where the water comes out, the carpet was covered in stains, the kettle was covered in lime scale that was all flaking off in chunks on the inside, the door would not open without been forced and as mentioned the air con was useless. The corridor and stairs had stains on them that could only be described as “someone had been bleeding while walking up or down them” and the lifts were in desperate need of some TLC

To be fair to the staff they were very helpful and friendly and did try to accommodate us but the rooms let the hotel down, especially considering that they were valued at £109 per night. We were impressed that we got one for just over £60, even though this was a big discount we did expect the rooms to be cleaner and more comfortable as you can still get into IBIS for less and these are in better condition. We will not use a Holiday Inn Express again and unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Huummmm - all the windows in every room are sealed so I could not say, ours was too hot and smelly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Nickie_1980,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards with regard to the room condition particularly the air conditioning system. Further, we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

It is our hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked in here for an overnight. No complaints about anything - frequently stay at HIE so very accustomed to the facilities - which were exactly what I needed. The quadruple glazing worked well - no noise from the busy precinct outside but the thunder of the tiptoeing stilettoes of a hen party going up and down the stairs made me giggle a bit. An extremely hard-working young lady in the breakfast area the next day who did a sterling job of keeping everything topped up. There were a few moaners but if people come down to breakfast in bare feet you don't really expect polite behaviour from them. Had to stay another night but the hotel was full so staff phoned round in order to get me a room in another hotel nearby. Extremely helpful staff. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the stairwell - especially if there are hen parties staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Goldilocks: not too hot, not too cold, just right!

Anti-Goldilocks: just not quite right.

Nothing particularly bad but lots of little details that were somewhat annoying. At the price we don't expect luxury and the location is very convenient and despite the city centre location no problem with noise for me. Superficially nice building, but silly little problems, no loo-roll holder, very noisy air-conditioning with no control to turn it off - only thing to do is take room key from light control thing, so all lights are off too, hermetically sealed windows, excessively bouncy mattress ...

Service personnel are individually very nice, but over-worked, so service overall was slow. Checking out at 6:30 am was delayed because only person was busy putting out breakfast. This is annoying when you get up early to get to work early. Checking in was slow, only one person serving again.

Generally I expect Holiday Inn Express to be a noticeable step up from the real budget chains, but this one was not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear djna01,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

perfectly situated right in the heart of Nottingham, and close to public car parking, this smart, clean hotel has everything for a cheap overnight stay. Happened to be two minutes (literally) from our dining location, so could not have been better. As for finding it... hard to miss, as you drive in from the M1, it is right in front of you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in Sept for 1 night as part of a stag doo. Hotel isnt far from the bars and clubs, room was clean and comfy. Price wise, pretty goood and they dont insist on a 2 night stay like many others nearby. I didnt notice any noise problems, then again i didnt get in till 4am and slipped into an alcohol induced coma shortly after. Breakie was average the next morning (included in the price) Sausage, egg, bean and toast. I'd stay here again if i ever find myself in Nottingham for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear DanLeiper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am happy our location was sufficient for your needs and you found our rooms to be comfortable.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Address: 7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham is located in the stylish Chapel Bar area, just off Market Square, the hotel is ideally located for all of the city center attractions, businesses and events. The hotel is within walking distance of the Capital FM Arena, National Ice Centre, Theatres, Universities, concert venues and tram, train and bus terminals. Donington Park and Sherwood Forest are easily reached by car. The hotel is set alongside pavement cafes and bars and offers the opportunity to experience the vibrant Nottingham night life. Those customers needing a quiet night will find the hotel glazing to be very effective in keeping the external noise out. Whether your visit is for business or leisure the hotel team will do all they can to ensure that you have a pleasant, comfortable and trouble free stay. The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham features a contemporary late night bar bar and a complimentary breakfast for all of our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre Hotel Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.