We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel had the perfect location right in Nottingham's city centre. 6 min walk to Robin Hood's statue, Nottingham castle. Great restaurants/pubs/mall/ walking distance of hotel. Dr. Martin store 2 blocks away :) We used walkit.com to locate attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. My only concerns was the bed was uncomfortable and we weren't told that complimentary breakfast was provided. FYI - Wifi is not complimentary. Taxi ride from rail to hotel was 5 pounds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    122
    97
    37
    38
See reviews for
51
101
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby in Ashfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here 29th September and paid just £35 for a double room with breakfast included. The parking is a few minutes walk round the corner and once you have your ticket validated, it costs £8.50 for 24 hours.
The room was spacious and well equipped, and was spotlessly clean. TV with freeview, hair dryer, good wardrobe space, comfy bed, powerful shower.
Breakfast is mainly continental with scrambled egg, sausages and beans included too. Other items on offer are toast, yoghurts, cereals, croissants, tea, coffee, juices etc etc. Sausages were reasonable quality, for the price it was a bargain and the location right in the city centre is perfect for somewhere to crash after a heavy night out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good location, friendly staff, room was clean and had everything you need! Parking was a problem the nearest car park is very busy. Breakfast was disappointing even if it was free i expected more then sausages and scrambled egg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear a r,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Right in the heart of Nottingham this hotel has a great location, even if parking is extra.
room clean and well appointed, staff very helpfull.
The free breakfast was excellent.
Great place for an overnight stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Close to busses , taxi and the city center. You are actualy in the city center when you stay here.
Great eating places all around.
Parking could be an issue I am told

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

walked into an empty reception and waited 15min for someone to tend to us. every time we walked into the hotel, the front desk was always unmanned! room was cold, toilet lock wasn't working. but location was good - near the old market square and lots of restaurants. very average hotel, nothing too spectacular

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a work conference. The location is central to the city centre. The double room I booked was a decent size. It was well equipped, with hair dryer, shampoo and shower gel, towels and tea making facilities. Bed was clean and very comfortable.

The hotel is on a busy road but I did not hear a thing when sleeping at 11pm. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was decent. Lots of pastries, bread for toast, cereal and some hot foods like eggs, beans and sausages, no bacon though, but I did not mind. Lots of tea, coffee, juices and fruits available.

Just one thing about the heating in the room, the fan can get rather cold, so I turned it off before sleeping.

Overall, not a bad hotel, well equipped and cannot really fault it for a budget city hotel. Recommended for business travelers.

Room Tip: Maybe higher floor if you want more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexHMNEXP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear EllyLam,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Nottingham.

I wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Address: 7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham is located in the stylish Chapel Bar area, just off Market Square, the hotel is ideally located for all of the city center attractions, businesses and events. The hotel is within walking distance of the Capital FM Arena, National Ice Centre, Theatres, Universities, concert venues and tram, train and bus terminals. Donington Park and Sherwood Forest are easily reached by car. The hotel is set alongside pavement cafes and bars and offers the opportunity to experience the vibrant Nottingham night life. Those customers needing a quiet night will find the hotel glazing to be very effective in keeping the external noise out. Whether your visit is for business or leisure the hotel team will do all they can to ensure that you have a pleasant, comfortable and trouble free stay. The Holiday Inn Express Nottingham features a contemporary late night bar bar and a complimentary breakfast for all of our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre Hotel Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.