We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful spot in the middle of Nottingham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hart's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hart's Hotel to your Saves list
Hart's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful spot in the middle of Nottingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet city centre location allowing open windows for ventilation. Good food served well in a pleasant restaurant. Breakfast usually in bar area which could be a bit cramped when hotel quite busy, although sometimes breakfast served in the restaurant which is better. Rooms small but comfortable. Some rooms with garden sitting area. Garden available of guests which is very pleasant on a good day. Wonderful views over the city, friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a lovely aspect, particularly when weather good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are very proud of our beautiful and secluded garden - I will pass on your comments to the staff who work so hard to keep it tidy. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    132
    48
    16
    2
See reviews for
51
146
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very good location for Nottingham city centre. I really liked the layout of the hotel as it wasn't the boring conventional type of place. Staff were excellent. Room that I had wasn't big, but quite sufficient for one night, and with a great view to the south of the city, which I didn't expect. I managed to get the last place in the car park - it's not very big, and that's something to consider. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Hart's - thank you for taking the time to post your review. Regarding parking - we guarantee that all hotel guests can park - although this may occasionally mean guests leave their keys at Reception. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

In short, whoever is recruiting & training staff here is doing a very good job indeed.
Polite, helpful & friendly employees everywhere, and plenty of them.
Excellent food at our function.
Spotless room but a bit small for the price, hence one star off.
No draught beer at the (fairly priced) bar, but space was tight so I understand why.
A very good hotel made excellent by a well-trained & motivated staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, General Manager at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post your positive feedback. We firmly believe that great service is not just a skill but an attitude, and always look to recruit dedicated and passionate individuals who are keen to “go that extra mile”. Your thoughts will certainly be passed onto the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harts in the near future. Adam Worthington GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party. Although a modern hotel, it still had character and it was not too large or impersonal. Our bedroom was big enough, very comfortable, and had windows that actually open - now there's a treat for these days. So we slept like logs. At the wedding reception the staff were attentive and the food imaginative. For a city centre location it was surprisingly quiet. Well done.

Room Tip: Our room had good view over the city.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, General Manager at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - we really appreciate feedback of all sorts. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to both the restaurant and our Bar staff. Adam Worthington GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksbridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Harts is an enigma. There's a lot of good ideas here, but I'm afraid they just don't make up for the mistakes. First up, as you come out of the small car park at the back of the hotel, you step straight into the lift that takes you to reception. This hotel advertises as boutique - I don't expect the first "personal touch" I see to be sticky back plastic on the lift buttons. Seriously, very cheap, which is a massive shame because the rest of the hotel is impeccably appointed. When we got to reception we were told our room had been upgraded from standard to superior. A nice touch. We were then advised, by a receptionist who could most kindly be described as brusque, that there was an optional package upgrade, for £30 to include dinner, breakfast and parking. I was taken aback. The private car park I had just parked in was going to cost me £8.50 to park in, on top of the £125 I was already paying for my room? I checked and I definitely wasn't in the US, or staying in a city centre travel lodge with no car park of it's own - I'd definitely parked my car in the secure car park that belonged to the hotel. This appears cheap, and, along with the lack of an option to book breakfast and dinner as part of a package upfront, immediately has guests feeling the they are there as a cash machine for profiteering. This needs rethinking. I do not expect to pay a fee for parking my car when I am paying a premium for my room. Also, there appear to be some bed and breakfast options, but there was none for me when I booked for one night online - if you want to offer options, offer them all up front. Only offering the at reception feels like an attempted mugging. When we got to our room we were impressed. Beautifully appointed, with a great bathroom, and views over the city: my only question was the size, good for an upgrade, but I wouldn't have been pleased paying the money I did for anything smaller. Little touches are nice - CD player and Blue Ray/DVD both have media available at reception to borrow for no fee (though the Visual media could do with an upgrade!). Fresh milk in the fridge for your hot drinks, toiletries are decent quality. We didn't try the restaurant, which is meant to be superb, and may have gained another star. Basically, there's nothing wring with the Hart, as a hotel, but it needs to know what it wants to be. I expected little touches and individuality, what I got was a business focus and a sales pitch. Really not sure if I'd stay again: if I did I might leave the car at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review- we will certainly take your comments on board.
Regarding the car parking facility and price - we do offer a secure and convenient place to park and feel that the charge is very competitive for a city centre hotel. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We checked in to Harts it is a local hotel to us and we would normally never stop as we only live 6 miles away. But we stayed as part of a theatre package.
We checked into a mini suite ( lounge , with on suite shower / toilet and master bedroom with on suite deluxe bathroom) The hotel is is very modern and bright and the bedroom is also very stylish with fantastic views over Nottingham.
The breakfast available was 1st class with top quality ingredients all served by extremely friendly staff.
The only drawback was the room was not very Clean there was hair and dirty footprints in the bathroom the wooden sideboard top had dirty coffee and water stains from previous guests and children had been in the room before as there were small sticky hand prints all over the floor to ceiling window.
We did mention this to the receptionist after we checked out the response was a little disappointing We would have normally given this hotel top marks but due to the lack of cleanliness of the room we could not do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, General Manager at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am saddened to learn of your experience of Harts Hotel and the cleanliness of your room. We do strive to do all we can to make each and every guest’s stay a memorable one, but have clearly fallen some way short of your expectations on this occasion. I will be working very hard with my team to try to avoid such occurrences in the future. I am however thrilled to hear of your experience of breakfast at the hotel, as we are extremely proud of our service delivery and offering. I will certainly pass on your praise to the team!
Adam Worthington GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Warm welcome, clean well decorated room, and attentive bar service made for a very pleasurable business stay over. And the restaurant food is exceptional, the only place to stay in Nottingham. Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - we really appreciate feedback of all sorts. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to both the restaurant and our Bar staff. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hart's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Hotel

Address: Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hart's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is perfect. A secluded courtyard, just a short stroll from Nottingham station, with a quiet garden giving glorious views over the city and beyond. Hart's light airy rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Top quality beds are equipped with goose down pillows and duvets, and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Since 1997 Hart's Restaurant has claimed the title of Nottingham's most successful up-market eatery, bringing to the city nationally acclaimed cooking at local prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hart's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hart's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.