We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hart's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hart's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hart's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room was quite small despite having booked a deluxe room as we were taking the dog, in the end we didn't which was just as well as the room was right next to the door to that wing and would have meant dog barking each time people went through!

Great location and friendly staff. Breakfast was raved about and quite expensive, sausages, bacon and toast excellent, although we had to ask or it repeatedly, scrambled eggs run out and not replaced, asked for poached eggs and I kid you not, most people would have been embarrassed to bring over the over cooked and swimming in water eggs. Coffee was good but again,needed to ask multiple times, when asked for marmite that was found which was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments - I will talk to the Park Bar Manager so that she can ensure that this doesn't happen again. Thanks again for your feedback - it all helps us to offer the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    35
    17
    2
See reviews for
34
114
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On a hill above the city centre district, Hart’s gave us a very pleasant two day stay. The room was of average size by European standards and thus small but not cramped by North American standards. We were on the “garden” level and had a sliding door opening onto a lawned patio overlooking the city. The room itself was very nice. The small bar served food that appears to be under the guidance of the excellent Hart’s Restaurant next door and the small items we had were great. It is irritating when a high quality nicely appointed hotel like this charges for so many extras: parking, newspapers, internet access (hard to believe anyone does this). On some issues service was a little off--friendly but not as knowledgeable as they might be.
If you go there, be sure to get directions. The area around it is a maze of one way streets and without clear directions a GPS gets lost. With clear directions, access is easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Am just back from a weekend break in Nottingham. We found Hart's to be an ideal location for the theatre being just 2 minutes down the road but more than that it was a super place to stay for a short break. The rooms are not large but are adequate and decorated in a way that is more distinctive and individual than most. The view from our room on the second floor, across the city skyline was stunnning. We also had a superb pre theatre dinner at the restaurant. I thouroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are lucky to have such great views over The Park area of Nottingham and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We work with both the Nottingham Playhouse and the Royal Centre to offer specific theatre packages but can offer pre-theatre meals for any show. I hope that you return to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A short walk to the city centre but one of the quietest Hotels.
Until recently I travelled extensively and internationally with my work, using Hotels right across the range. I used to have a check list (prior to booking) of what I wanted from a hotel/room. One of the most important requirements was room quietness/privacy. I did not want noise from the outside/corridors and in particular from the next bedroom. Believe me satisfying this criteria was easier said than done.Nottingham City centre has the weekend reputation of being one of the noisiest in the UK -so I was a little concerned about the selection of my Hotel. Thanks to Tripadvisor I managed to select one of the best.
I booked a superior room at £125 plus £9 x2 for breakfast. My feeling is that these rooms are the same as standard rooms but have a nice elevated view of the city parklands. The room was small (appox 12 x 9 feet) ,well fitted and designed with an excellent adjacent bathroom . The only way to watch the tv is by laying on the bed. Breakfast is offered in the room but with one small desk impossible for 2 people. The important thing is that the building has been well designed for privacy. Each bedroom is sandwiched between bathrooms and the walls well insulated for noise(surprising for modern buildings).Aircon is available (but a little noisy) with the option of opening the large bedroom window on to the garden below.In spite of the Hotel being full it was a quiet/peacefull Saturday night.
We had a continental breakfast in Hart's restaurant next door - excellent service and some of the nicest bread I have ever tasted.
In summary this is a classy well run Hotel and a credit to its management and Nottingham City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I will pass on your kind words to Adam Worthington our General Manager and his team. He will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Hart's. We are very lucky to be situated in such a quiet and secluded spot - but still be only a few minutes walk from the centre of Nottingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, very pleasant hotel, attentive service and good whiskey in the bar, large comfortable room and a good breakfast. Stayed one night for work and left feeling calm and refreshed - will use again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back to Hart's. I will tell Kirsty our Bar Manager that you enjoyed the whiskey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hart's was such a great surprise! My taxi driver was impressed when I said where I was to go, "Probably the best hotel in Nottingham, and Hart's restaurant is fantastic!" Well we never got to the restaurant, but food in the Hotel was very good.
The amazing thing about the Hotel is the view over the town below.One comment about it was that the Hotel was getting a bit outdated, but I particularly liked that aspect. It made it less like all the other Hotels I've stayed in - plainer really in style, with a sweet garden. If the decor is updated, perhaps it won't really gain anything.
I was with family and babies. The staff were fantastic with them so they behaved like angels, and the rooms were quite big enough for travel cots and thoughtfully on a quiet corridor with rooms opening out of each other. Very secure and ideally private. We felt we couldn't disturb anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hart's - we have just introduced a new menu in the Hotel's Park Bar - so I will let our chef know that you enjoyed your meal. I hope that you will stay with us again and next time perhaps you will have time to try the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I simply love my Home From Home hotel in Nottingham. It's very comfortable and the staff and service are absolutely wonderful. I think I have stayed in all the rooms over my many years of being a regular guest and yes, some of them are rather small but the suites are better. However, all the rooms have goose down pillows and proper grown up coffee to name but a few creature comforts.

The fine dining restaurant is excellent and food there has always been delicious, however, the bar food is only ok. The menu never changes, and I suppose it's rather boring to regulars who look for a better variety of late night snacks or want dinner in something less formal than a proper restaurant. It's time for a change - per-leez!!!

A super four star hotel with five star service and such lovely staff, in particular Reiss the Manager!
Nothing is ever too much trouble and I am always happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hart's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Hotel

Address: Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hart's Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is perfect. A secluded courtyard, just a short stroll from Nottingham station, with a quiet garden giving glorious views over the city and beyond. Hart's light airy rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Top quality beds are equipped with goose down pillows and duvets, and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Since 1997 Hart's Restaurant has claimed the title of Nottingham's most successful up-market eatery, bringing to the city nationally acclaimed cooking at local prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hart's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hart's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.