We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Save
You added Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenton Lane | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Impeccable service, wonderful food and an experience to live in the memory. Had the tasting menu along with the famous duck egg and dined in the kitchen at the chefs table. The staff are great, young and energetic and clearly enjoy working here, what an experience to sit in and amongst the chefs at a Michelin two star restaurant and watch them prepare our meal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    29
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
164
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited back in July but only just round to posting the review.

All I can say is amazing!

We had the 10 course menu plus the duck egg course (if it’s good enough for the Queen we had to try it!) and also the paired wines which were fab.

The whole evening was a success and definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We don't really know where to start! What an incredible experience from start to finish.

We were greeted at the door by the most friendly face, presenting the most deliciously gooey infamous Sat Bains brownies. We were then guided through to our Superior room which was breathtakingly beautiful, and were so impressed by the coffee tray complete with freshly baked cookies - so delicious! The assistant manager (Sergio) even managed to somehow dig out a pair of brand new tooth brushes and tooth paste after hearing that we had forgotten ours!

We had the 10 course taster menu, which was truly a theatrical journey of just how mind blowing tastes can be. The menu is so well thought out, and we loved how they didn't give the details of each course away with their witty written menus. The restaurant were also kind enough to not only amend the menu for us (we don't eat meat but do eat fish), but they also printed the amended menus for us to keep.

The atmosphere is very intimate, and whilst being near other tables, you feel like you are in your world.

Although the room and the dinner was incredible, the staff really pushed the level of the establishment up a notch for us. Especially Thibaut, who showcased the true art of service to us throughout our entire stay. Although we were in a room with 7 other tables, we really felt like we were the center of the waiters' attention.

After our meal, we re-located to the bar / lounge area to enjoy some coffee and the 'Chocolate Log' - which is a selection of 5 distinctly flavored chocolate shards - be sure to make this part of your experience!

To top everything off, we had the best breakfast we've ever tasted in the morning before we left! Served in the conservatory, the french toast is to die for.

The lovely people at Sat Bains let you part with a "Something for your Journey" homemade flapjacks packet, which were again just beautiful.

Despite being pricey, the entire experience is MORE than worth the money. We will definitely be coming back, next time hopefully to sit at the kitchen table!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had always wanted to visit this place...a few hints to my partner...was treated to dinner, bed, and breakfast for a rather special birthday.

We had a suite, room 7, which was just fabulous! As for the dinner, we had the 10 course menu with the wine flight. Could not fault anything. Food was just out of this world, and service impeccable! Worth the 3 hour drive there and back. Difficult to mention a highlight of the meal, but one of the 3 desserts did not look interesting, looked like a sponge cake! However, I think this was a sort of deconstructed tiramisu.....it just melted in your mouth, completely wonderfull

Yes, expensive........but worth every penny! As good as it gets!

Breakfast also extremely good, but still full from last night's dinner....could not do it justice. But my partner's scrambled egg with smoked salmon was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 7, which is a suite, is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The tasting menu is excellent and a real experience. The raw and roasted scallops were my favourite. The service and atmosphere are also very nice. We passed our thanks on to the chefs the next morning when checking out and they were kind enough to show us around the kitchen and the development room which was very interesting.

I have rated 4 instead of 5 because we were sat at a table right underneath a heater and it was far too warm, like sitting next to an open fire. We asked to move but there were no other tables and they did kindly turn the heater down so it didn't continue to be a problem. In a place with 2 michelin stars though you really expect the entire experience to be perfect and feel utterly spoilt and not uncomfortable and have to complain.

The room was very cosy and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast is good too (but you might not have much room left after the night before).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our best meal in a restaurant ever! Simply brilliant cooking and gracious, unstuffy staff. Amazing flavours and textures which were sensational in the true sense of the word. We had the 7 course taster menu plus an extra course offered. We savoured every part of the meal. A real experience in food and one we would want to have again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just home (over 3hrs away!) from a fantastic lunch at the chef's table. We loved the friendly relaxed atmosphere of a busy working restaurant where we were served by the chefs, including Sat, who talked to us about the food. Some courses were mind-blowingly different,(chicken meusli) some foraged locally,(horseradish ice cream and nettle soup) some wonderfully "deconstructed" (pear franzipane) and some just luxuriously unctuous (lamb shoulder, kidney and shallots) All delicious!
It was great to eat overlooking the chefs at work in the kitchen and not be surrounded by other guests. Top tip - order coffee to try the 5 digestif chocolates served in a log!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms

Address: Lenton Lane | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Two Star Michelin restaurant serving modern British cuisine with eight bedrooms. Lunch on chef's or kitchen table Tuesday to Saturday From 12.00 Noon Dinner. Tuesday to Thursday 6.30 Pm - 9.00 Pm Friday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Saturday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Booking Essential. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Restaurant Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel Nottingham
Hotel Sat Bains With Rooms
Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.