We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired & dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Waverly St, Nottingham NG2 2HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Bit tired & dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

On first impressions was disappointed as stayed previous 3 nights in York and derby in modern hotels, but bed was comfy even though we had large bed but really 2 singles pushed together not much good for a couple , shower very tiny so give it a miss and big crack in sink not much draft proofing as very old sash windows curtains moved a lot ,carpets dirty and place could do with a full make over , but I did order room service and it was delicious and breakfast was good too,for the money we paid it was good value for money but think I will stay in modern hotels in future ,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    70
    49
    26
    34
See reviews for
14
72
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel due to being close to the city centre and on the tram route for a night so I could explore the nightlife not long after my 34th birthday.
Looking at the photos and room description - £45 instead of £85 for a superior double room through laterooms.com with only one left at the time, I took it with great excitement.
What a mistake-a to make-a as the saying goes in 'Allo 'Allo!
I arrived an hour early and room 22 which was allocated was ready for me...
It was in a seperate building next door and the bed was two singles pushed together, when I laid down I nearly fell between the gap between them...without writing an essay about the stay, I will let the photos do the talking!

Room Tip: Get someone to show you to your room before accepting, that way any problems should be rectified the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Park Hotel lies in an old residential area 15-20 minute's walk from the centre of Nottingham. 150 metres away you can catch a tram to the centre and the main railway station (cost: 2.5 pounds!). The hotel is in an old mansion and is typically British, both in positive and negative sense. The staff were friendly. The spacious dining room is decorated in vaguely Gothic style. There is no lift and the staircase to the second floor is very narrow and steep - nothing for elderly visitors. My single room was quiet but too crammed for a 3-star hotel, no wonder, it measured just 2.5 x 5 m including the bathroom. The queen size bed was soft but comfortable.

Summary: if you are looking for a budget accommodation in Nottingham, this hotel is worth considering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decor a bit quirky but stay was very pleasant. Location good, easy access to city centre, arboretum just across the road. Staff were friendly, facilities fine, room clean and airy. Steep stairs and no lift the main drawback.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Great location, across from the Arboretum Park and literally 15 minute walk to the castle. The room was clean, comfortable bed. We had no complaints. Reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers on the exterior, but not the service. Everyone was very accomodating. The English breakfast was great. Would recommended this based on location, price and overall service. Not the Ritz, but good nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Better than I expected for the price. I paid less than £40 a night which I thought was very cheap.
Room was nice, the bathroom less so and needs modernising. But all I needed was a cheap place to sleep, shower and change and this was more than adequate. No problems with cleanliness, new clean towells every day. Decent TV, bed comfortable, tea/coffee facilities, free parking (permit given with £20 deposit). Great location. Staff friendly.
All adds up to very very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Woken up at 4am by bugs crawling on my neck and chest. Turned on the light and there were 6-10 visible bedbugs leisurely strolling around the sheets and pillows. More when I pulled the duvet off. The hotel manager arrived at 6am and offered me another room and a refund for that night. She said they'd had pest control but that it was a continuing problem! I'm not an uptight traveler and can tolerate poor conditions for a cheap place to sleep... but BEDBUGS are another story! Steer clear of this place unless you don't mind a bit of company in the sack....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_ParkHotel, Owner at Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

I am terribly sorry that there were bed bugs in your room. As you have mentioned we did give you a full refund for that night and upgraded you for free to a superior room the following day.

Unfortunately the whole of the UK has been affected by bedbugs, and this is a persistent problem for all hoteliers not just for us. Bed bugs usually arrive from guests who have travelled from abroad, or any other guests that have recently travelled via airports since the bugs are usually spread by suitcases.

We use specialist bed bug monitoring system from Nottingham pest control and you can call them on 01159 612 760 if you would like to confirm.

Please go and check our reviews on booking.com and Laterooms.com. This is the first ever review we have had on bed bugs and I can assure you we do not have a problem with bed bugs.

We do hope that you still decided to book with us, and rest assured that we have all the possible systems in place to prevent bed bugs in our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at al@parkhotelnottingham.co.uk if you require any further information.

Thank you

Kind regards

Al Malik MBA (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 5-7 Waverly St, Nottingham NG2 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.