We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for Nottingham.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nottingham Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nottingham Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Nottingham Gateway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuthall Road, Nottingham NG8 6AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very convenient for Nottingham.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have stayed a few times whilst visiting family and friends in the Nottingham area. It's only a mile or so from the M1 and just 10 minutes from the city centre. Not perfect, but good value, very reasonable service and well situated. Just avoid staying when there's a function on a Saturday night if you want to get to sleep before 12:30 a.m.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the functions room if you want an early night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    117
    105
    66
    59
See reviews for
66
121
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night 10/2/2013 very good location for M1, reception staff very pleasant on arrival, nice room with large bed, good car parking, no problem with hotel but the breakfast was cold,said sorry but no replacement. This let our stay down. you should shop around to get the best rate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here last night (09/02/13) we booked last week and got the room for £40 ish its close enough to taxi to the centre (appx 4 miles to town) we were visiting family so the £15 breakfast wasn't taken up by us. The actual room was fine, clean, massive bed - extra pillows as per our request online. We stayed in 223 the bathroom needed sorting desperately!! it was dingy which made it look dirty!!

The hotel on a whole was fine but we did have one major complaint. Upon arrival - all details are taken - key(S) are provided and details are stored with the hotel. Which led to our disbelief when we had a call from reception at 2:20am asking us if Tepaul was staying in our and if he should be let up??? We brought this up to the receptionist this morning. My partner has worked in hotels before and was concerned that no security was done with this random person trying to get up to the room.... What would have happened if we had not awoke in time for the phone? Would they have let him up? Upon arrival at the hotel they had ran through all details, my name how many guests where on my booking etc.
The receptionist called the manager to come and discuss our concerns however she couldn't be bothered coming to see us and left the receptionist to advise us there's nothing he could do as he had only started his shift at 9am.

The hotel was fine until this point.... on this basis we decided we wouldn't stay again.... happy take your money but not happy to discuss concerns we have with the security of the hotel.

Room Tip: 223 was fine for us... just the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Located just off Junction 26 of the M1 the hotel is easy to find and has ample free car parking. Wifi is complimentary throughout the hotel and works well. Hotel is in need of some refurbishment but is basically clean and comfortable. Bar area is large and spacious and the food on offer is reasonably priced for a hotel and of a good standard. All the staff are polite and happy to help. My bedroom was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom has bath and shower and is more than adequate. The hotel was reasonably priced although they did want to charge me £10 extra if I checked in before 3pm which seems a bit excessive.
Easy access into Nottingham with tram and bus stops close by.
Overall good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and on both occasions have had a very low rate and this was during summer and for a double room!
The hotel is a bit out of the way of town but good transport links are available - the tram is a short walk away and several buses pass straight past the hotel - it is situated near the M1 which would benefit travellers.
The hotel looks stunning and very well presented from the outside and the main lobby is luxurious! feels like a 5 star hotel before you have even visited reception!
The room was very spacious and had plenty of facilities, free parking is available and they have plenty of spaces available.
I recommend you visit the bar - a very nice atmosphere and is also open to the general public which i visit sometimes.
A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel provide a good view of the water features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped here New years eve. I liked the layout of the hotel. The staff were very friendly with the exception of one of the receptionists who seemed to have had a personality bypass. the room was clean ,tidy and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent had sat over looking the moat. the downside was the tickets we paid £15 for the Buffet\Disco which we pre booked. it seems as hotel guests we were entitled to go in anyway which was not mentioned at the time of booking! reasonably priced i would not hesitate to stop again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a night in November whilst visiting family in Nottingham,, Had called through before hand to request quiet room and boy was this what we got, 2nd Floor left out of lifts and to the end of the corridor it was a wonderful quiet nights sleep.. Sleep quality is the main priority to me when staying in hotels and this was one of the best..
Lovely clean comfortable room, tea and coffee facilities, and a nice hot shower.
Breakfast upto the usual high standard for this Hotel with Hot/Cold buffee tea/coffee served to you bu very pleasant waiting staff..
A lovely stay had and we will be back! Thanks

Room Tip: quiet room, High floor - call before hand to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nottingham Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottingham Gateway Hotel

Address: Nuthall Road, Nottingham NG8 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottingham Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nottingham Gateway Hotel has commenced upon a five million pound refurbishment of the property. This includes all 105 bedrooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, bar, reception & lobby, public areas, and the addition of a new fitness centre. The hotel’s design is a fusion of city glamour and rustic charm, with the hotel being only 3 miles from Nottingham city centre and 1 mile from Junction 26 of the M1. The hotel is surrounded by woodland and has a large moat which stretches the front drive of the hotel, attracting lots of natural wildlife. The refurbishment of the bedrooms has created brand new superior bedrooms which include queen bedrooms with a 5ft bed, king bedrooms with a 6ft bed, and executive suites with a king sized bed and double sofa bed. The bedroom features include guest controlled air-conditioning / heating system, luxurious walk in showers, 40 inch flat screen TV with 888 channels to choose from, free Wi-Fi, guest fridge, guest safe, spacious desk, door spy hole and door limiter for guest safety. Throughout 2014 the hotel will be completing the refurbishment work with the standard hotel bedrooms being phased out completely in May 2014. We look forward to showcasing our new product throughout 2014 as different phases are completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nottingham Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottingham Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.