We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery Wollaton Park

Toby Carvery Wollaton Park
Derby Road, Nottingham NG8 2NR, England
+44 115 922 1691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #831 of 1,146 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Wollaton Park. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Nottingham’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited on a Saturday evening in early December for a family celebration. The restaurant has been refurbished and was very busy, so it was a good job we’d booked in advance. There was a few minutes’ delay waiting for the table, but nothing to get upset about. After being shown to our table the drinks order was taken promptly and they arrived quickly, we then made our way to the carvery.

There was a choice of five meats and all looked very good. We were served quickly and with a reasonable amount of meat (though while we were in the queue the server changed and the new one was noticeably more generous than her predecessor).

There was a decent choice of vegetables and all were well presented – nothing looked either soaked to mush or dried up, the twin evils of carvery veg!

Various gravies and sauces were available on a side-table, though this could have done with a clean-up as there was congealed gravy spilled around on the table and down the sides of the containers which made it all look less than appetising.

Back at the table, everyone tucked into the food and the consensus was “very good”. All the meats were moist and tender and the vegetables well cooked and acceptably hot. Afterwards we sampled a range of desserts and once again, there were no complaints about the food.

The only niggle was that during the refurbishment, someone had decided to put “artworks” consisting of displays of cutlery on the walls. Each is encased in an acrylic box which projects about 15cm from the wall. This is all very well, except that they’re directly above some of the bench seats and at just the right height to ensure that people sitting on those seats (me, for instance) bash their heads on them every time they sit up straight! We made our views on this silliness known to the management so maybe something will have been done about them.

Overall, then, a good meal. Not 5-star quality but at six quid a head for the main course you can’t expect that. We all left well-fed and happy and would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    30
    15
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visit.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went with family for the Christmas Carvery. Nothing out of the ordinary with the usual carvery choices. Food could have been much hotter and vegetables varied in quality - creamed potatoes a bit dry, but parsnips delicious!. A vegetarian option took ages to supply so other diners kept waiting. Have been a year ago and then it was much better. Pleasant waitress and the setting is warm and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“On the ball here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went here for the lunch time carvery at the height of the Christmas rush. The place was near enough at maximum capacity but only a 5 minute wait for a table for 5 and every aspect of the carvery food was very good. A credit to one and all for catering for so many people and with so many different vegtable dishes. £5.99 you can not go wrong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This pub is in front of the Wollaton Park Travelodge so we went here the first morning for breakfast. The breakfast was about £8 for a buffet style. Although we were up in good time there were few choices of breakfast items, not all looked fresh and it was certainly not a full buffet range. You have to queue to make your own toast, tea and coffee. We asked if it was possible to have a smaller breakfast e.g bacon and toast, egg and toast tomorrow and was told by the manager that he would have to charge for the tea and coffee which would make it expensive so we were better to pay the £8!! Consequently our breakfast the next day was in tesco just down the road. A full english with better selection, better quality and better value.We also had a carvery there that night. It was average quality and we have had better carverys so wouldnt be visiting again if in the area. Found it frustrating that the manager was totally disinterested and didnt appear to fully listen to our questions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not improved since last reviewer and senior management should take action”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have visited this place on three previous occasions and have to concur with the last report of August. There has been no change. Staff are welcoming- Floor was dirty and a health hazhard with vegetables spilled on the walking areas of interior. These were not cleaned and had been trodden into the carpet.

Food was Turkey, Gammon, Beef and pork. I did not try the pork but my party tried the rest and these were very good. The problem was the vegetables and extras. The problem is that they are poorly prepared, seasoned and left to dry out under the powerful heating lights. Surely the last report must have been seen but not heeded, The potatoes were dry on the outside and had become crusty, the stuffing was dry as a bone and had not been re-fillled. Roast potatoes, cauliflower cheese and peas tasteless. Carrots and Yorkshire pudding were good. Kale was bland and tough.

I am sorry but this is not the Toby Carvery I used to know so shall not be going again. There are other pub grups offering the same standard at half the price if you just want to fill your belly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Wollaton Park also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Wollaton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Wollaton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.