We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but a bit slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nada Budaya

Nada Budaya
20-22 Broad St., Nottingham NG1 3AL, England
0115 958 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,153 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited on Sat 12th Jan. This was our second visit, and we both thought the food was just as good. However, it seems that front of house needs a bit more training, as the service left a little to be desired.
I know that both of the waiting staff were very new, and we made allowances for it. We will visit again in the furure in the hope that this has been resolved.
Don't be put off by my review, go and visit. I'm sure that the service will get upto its usual level soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hi there, me and my partner have just come home from a wonderful meal at Nadya Budaya.

I have to say the staff were very friendly and food was hot and lovely.

We had never had Malaysian food before but having now tried it we will be recomending it to friends and family.

The prices werent too steep or out of the ordinary for a typical meal in the area and even if it was we wouldlnt have minded paying it as the food was very tasty and well worth it.

If you havent been before, give it a go i guarantee you'll enjoy it.

Well done! 5 star in our eyes.

Rhea ande Lee

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointingly unauthentic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

First of all - the service was excellent, attentive and polite waiting staff all around. The atmosphere was great too, and the menus had authentic-sounding Malaysian dishes.

However, as someone who has lived in Malaysia for over 15 years, I really cannot vouch for the food. We had 'mamak-style fried noodles', tomato rice and beef rendang (curry) with side-dishes of tempeh (fried tofu) and kerabu (a Malay salad). There was an everpresent 'dampness' to all the dishes, except for the tomato rice, which is supposed to be damp. They used coconut milk instead of dried coconut flesh for the salad. The noodles (£9.95!) tasted like they were sourced from the nearest supermarket and the combination was nowhere like Malaysian fried noodles unfortunately. The tempeh tasted stale, and I have had lots of tempeh before.

This is a great place if you want excellent service and an amazing atmosphere, but I am afraid that the food really lets it down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bit disappointed and very expensive for take away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

i had dinner with my partner today at nada budaya for £100 (no wine), but thats include 3 nasi lemak take away. very disappointed with the take away. 3 nasi lemak cost like £35 for take away, so basically £11+ each. you get only 3 prawn and few ikan bilis and a f.eggs.. to be honest i won't go back for take away with that kind of portion and that price!
feel like been rob. lol

sitting in was alright, service really good, bit disappointed with the ikan bakar, would not order that again as 3 slices with pot of chilli cost like £13+. other than that really tasty such like chicken satay,rendang daging, nasi goreng kampung and assam laksa (thumbs up). i think its just a bit over price especially take away.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nada Budaya is tucked away and difficult to spot from the street, but once you find your way downstairs from Brewdog you are in for a treat. We have enjoyed both the regular menu and the Christmas special. The Christmas menu gives you chance to try a range of different starters and main courses and so is an excellent introduction. The dishes are flavoursome: some are quite mild and coconutty and others are quite spicy. I particularly enjoyed the Murtabak starter and Beef Rendang main course. Overall service is friendly and helpful and a good place to go with a party as at the moment it is still relatively undiscovered.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nada Budaya also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Nada Budaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nada Budaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.