We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talbot Street | Notts, Nottingham NG1 5GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Location is everything!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Welbeck Hotel is to be found in a functional 1960s redbrick tower close to the centre of Nottingham. The archetypal hotel furnishings have not been maintained, resulting in lots of knocks and peeling wallpaper. The bedrooms are acceptable, but cleaned by staff who are reluctant to engage in conversation.

Access is made problematic by Nottingham's one-way system and the immediate approach is in urgent need of redevelopment. What makes this hotel worthy of attention is its provision of car parking, its proximity to Nottingham's centre and the occasional good value promotion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    67
    27
    24
See reviews for
22
97
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My singing group Viva Acappella have just returned from Nottingham and a three night stay at the Welbeck. What a great place to stay. The staff were amazing. Barry the restaurant manager never seemed to sleep, he was there to serve us breakfast, dinner and a drink at the bar at midnight. Fantastic value for money - food was hot and plentiful. Tony the chef was very accommodating even when 48 of us arrived for dinner on the Friday night an hour late for dinner (sorry)!

I have been emailing and speaking to Sam over the past year regarding our group booking and it was a pleasure to meet him in person. We will definitely be returning next year - the rooms are lovely, the food is great, the staff are wonderful - very happy group of (noisy - sorry) middle aged women.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Booked through a KGB deal with a dinner included. On booking was advised that the restaurant was closed on Sunday night so we agreed to have Sunday lunch instead.
On arrival we were advised that the restaurant was now closed completely on Sunday due to the company being in administration. Staff agreed not to charge car parking @ £10 per 24 hours and we ate elsewhere.
Room very big, clean and a good nights sleep despite being next door to a huge concert venue (couldn't hear a thing).
Breakfast ok and staff very pleasant.
Hotel very well placed for the city centre and the nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I booked a bank holiday weekend break on a kgb deal at the Welbeck Hotel. From arrival it was a really nice experience, friendly, helpful staff and a large clean room with the biggest bed I have ever seen!
Our deal included dinner on the first night and whilst the menu was fairly basic, we enjoyed generous portions of well cooked food (I can certainly recommend the Chicken and Bacon Salad!).
Location is fantastic, being just up a side street 2 minutes from the main square, and close to all the restaurants and bars.
I have read a number of other reviews and frankly cannot understand how they were staying in the same place a me, our experience was extremely good and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a 3 night stay through kgb with a 3 course meal included, the meal was ok but not as described on the website we decided to eat out the next night at the local Brazilian resteraunt which was excellent, breakfast was good and plenty of choice, hotel clean and rooms a good size, staff were all very good, nothing too much trouble, although be careful in resteraunt as the waiter charged us for a pudding which was included in our meal, and on checking out our drinks had been added on to our bill which we had paid for on the night we ate in the hotel!! would go back think some of the negative reviewers want 5 star for 3 star money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last friday. our stay was amazing big comfy bed and tea making facilities in the room.Chek-in was swift and welcoming.Breakfast was amazing for the price we paid. I recomend this hotel and will definetly visit.

Room Tip: lovely rooftop garden upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went to a concert in Nottingham the other night and this was the perfect hotel. Right next to the venue (without all the noise). Only problem we had were the pillows were rock solid but the bed was huge. Would stay again if another gig was in Nottingham.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Talbot Street | Notts, Nottingham NG1 5GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 96 air-conditioned rooms are equipped with the following: En-Suite Bathroom - Satellite TV - Video - Hairdryer - Trouser Press Tea & Coffee Making Facilities - No-Smoking Rooms Available - Extra Phone/Fax Line for Business Use.Our fifth floor restaurant, with panoramic views of the city, offers you the opportunity to entertain friends, family or associates in a private setting. Tailor-made menus, personal service and our attention to detail - discuss your requirements with us and we will make it happen.We have three modern conference suites with fax and photocopying facilities.Nottingham Station is a 5 minute taxi ride from The Welbeck.East Midlands Airport is a 30 minute drive away by taxi.Reduced rate overnight parking at the Talbot Street Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.