We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talbot Street | Notts, Nottingham NG1 5GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We worked out its been almost a year since we stayed here last and I am surprised by some of the recent reviews.
We've always chosen the Welbeck for over night stays in Nottingham as it is conveniently located for shops, bars and restaurants.
I will admit it was looking a little tired so we were pleased to check in to find our room had had a fresh coat of paint.
We booked and paid a few nights ahead so for £49 (room only) mid week this represents great value for money.
On the basis of location convenience and value we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    67
    27
    24
See reviews for
22
97
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked two rooms for one night. We arrived at 9.15am as our son was attending a conference at Trent university. We didn't expect to be able to check in that early but our rooms were already available, which was a nice surprise. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were on the 4th Floor. The rooms were very good for what we had paid. Good size and clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. When we checked out we left our bags for about six hours as we sampled the delights of Nottingham on a damp and cold sunday and had no problems with any of the staff who were all friendly and helpful. We did not experience any problems with noise, and the hotel is perfectly situated for Trent University and Theatre Square, and just a 10 minute stroll from Market Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel as it was convenient for the interview she had at the Nottingham Trent University, just around the corner. There is a car park right next door but the hotel also have their own car park underneath the hotel. The man on reception was very welcoming and when my daughter said that she needed a strong Wi Fi connection to prepare for her interview, he was extremely helpful and hunted around to find us a room that met her needs.The room itself was clean and the bed was large and comfortable and the shower was hot. Initially, after reading reviews that cited the problem of noise from the music venue down the road,I was worried about getting a decent nights sleep but we heard nothing at all. Overall, The Welbeck is a convenient place to stay, right in the centre of Nottingham, close to all the restaurants and shops and at a very reasonable price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Apart from being shabby and cold, this hotel is dangerous. There is no fire escape from half the rooms on the ground floor SMOKING level. The fire escape is locked and you cannot open the windows. My friends and I were very disappointed to find that our rooms were grubby, stained, dusty and freezing. Even leaving the heating on constantly, the room was cold. There were dirty cups and no tea/coffee in the room on arrive.
To add to our frustration, we have been emailing the non-existance manager since our stay regarding our views and no one can be bothered to reply.

Room Tip: Rooms to right of reception on ground level do not have a fire escape. Other rooms slightly safer b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel, to be told they didn't have our booking reservation. After several phonecalls to the website we used to book, it was discovered that the hotel didn't make an effort to inform the companies that they were fully booked.

The Wellbeck staff at first refused to admit there mistake, trying to find us another hotel, after much talking they suddenly had two cancellations last minute (who would of thought it!). We were offered one of these rooms, they said they were giving us them even though they cost £80 more then the room we booked - as if they were doing us a favour when it was there fault! A couple arrived after us and had the same problem RE booking not showing up.

And now onto the room, disgusting, window handle hanging off the hinges, tape all around the window frames holding it together, due to this we were unable to close the window all night. Appliances in the room didnt work and the ice machines were filthy.

Not even one apology from the "staff", we were instantly dismissed as soon as another customer came to reception.The Wellbeck? More like the Well s**t!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Want a good room? Look at a hotel anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is very near the centre. They have a car park but we had to pay extra. The room was a good size but smelt of paint. the hot water was only luke warm. The room was cold and the air con didnt really heat the room. We could also hear the music and noise from Rock city next door. The bed was massive but didnt have an iron in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely breakfast
Clean large room
Wifi free Everywhere is great, however the noise from a disco until early hours is a real problem and I am told this is a regular problem
Cannot stay again
Certainly would not recommend to families

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Talbot Street | Notts, Nottingham NG1 5GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 96 air-conditioned rooms are equipped with the following: En-Suite Bathroom - Satellite TV - Video - Hairdryer - Trouser Press Tea & Coffee Making Facilities - No-Smoking Rooms Available - Extra Phone/Fax Line for Business Use.Our fifth floor restaurant, with panoramic views of the city, offers you the opportunity to entertain friends, family or associates in a private setting. Tailor-made menus, personal service and our attention to detail - discuss your requirements with us and we will make it happen.We have three modern conference suites with fax and photocopying facilities.Nottingham Station is a 5 minute taxi ride from The Welbeck.East Midlands Airport is a 30 minute drive away by taxi.Reduced rate overnight parking at the Talbot Street Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.