We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great buffet - not a bun fight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of may sum buffet restaurant

may sum buffet restaurant
92-98 Upper Parliament Street, Nottingham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #378 of 1,102 restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: post code NG1 6LF tele 0115 912 2000 ‎
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great buffet - not a bun fight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm not a great fan of Chinese buffets as they are too often badly presented, low quality ingredients, cold food and gloopy. However thanks to the May Sum in Nottingham I might have to revisit that misconception, and most certainly revisit the restaurant.
Plenty of space and the buffet table is massive, extending to sushi and teppanyaki as well as a dessert spread and salad bar. The food was all well-heated and no shortage of any of the dishes.
Range of drinks was quite acceptable, but that isn't the main reason to visit a buffet.
Although bustling (I visited on a Wednesday night) there was no pressure to eat up and move on, and no embarrassment of visiting the buffet selection again (and yet again), although it is easy to overeat. The staff were brisk, but still friendly and never far away, but not intrusive.
When back in Nottingham, I'll make a point to eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    41
    61
    20
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty plates and cutleries yuck!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The plates were all dirty plus the cutleries still have residues on it. If those things are dirty what more the way they prepare their food??!! Felt disgusted! Never again! Food hygiene and safety should check them regularly...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went for the first time to this Chinese and Asian Buffet Restaurant the other day. I had heard about it in the past but never been in. I was impressed with how quickly we were attended to at the front door, and shown to our table. The restaurant has a lovely bar, customer toilets and a fantastic array of foods. The staff were attentive, sometimes more so than was necessary, but I do not consider this a bad thing. We all had a wonderful time and the desserts were divine!! Everything from fruit, to ice cream. Although we didn't have any alcohol, for 4 people the bill was LESS than £60 in total. We are definitely going to be going again and if you are going to be driving there is a car park near enough opposite to the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good atmosphere, roomy,nice staff,good choice of quality food,suit vegetarians,nice salad bar, excellant for the price Definatley worth a second ,third, visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were seated easily even though the restaurant was full.
The drinks were brought straight away.
The food was divine - there was soooo much choice and being able to try something - have your plate cleared away - and try other things was marvellous.
I would highly recommend this place to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed may sum buffet restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to may sum buffet restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage may sum buffet restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.