We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in need of refurbishment ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Nottingham Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in need of refurbishment ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

On arrival I was encouraged by the friendly reception staff. My room was very big and once upon a time was probably very prestigious. The wifi only works in the lobby. The hair dryer didn't work and by the time one was delivered my (long) hair was almost dry. The coffee provided in the room was the worst I have ever tasted. This hotel is ok if you want an inexpensive place to rest your head.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    139
    175
    155
    249
See reviews for
67
252
61
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was my first time visit to Nottingham and I've stayed 2 nights at this place. Well, it was my worst experience in Europe! The pictures on the website are nice, but in the reality hotel is very small with outdated furniture and dirty carpets. Housekeeping stuff is very rude, if they need to clean your room - they will stand right next to your room until you leave. Breakfast was somewhat reasonable, except they didn't have brewed coffee. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people who is looking for comfort and good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I travel a lot, have stayed at this hotel a few times, I get nice welcoming, friendly staff, fresh clean comfy bed, tv, clean shower room etc, the view from this hotel is great, I always get 9 floor, every thing you need for a great nite sleep, great location and does have other facility within hotel, I tend to just stay in my room, I am happy to pay £35, to £42 for single room, I am always happy with these hotels, whatever City I am in, x

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed here before and only returned because there is something going on in Nottingham and so I had difficulty finding anywhere else at a price I could afford. Even then, the hotel is apparently full judging by the two people at reception who had booked 2 twin rooms for single occupancy and were being asked to share by the battle hardened receptionist, due to over booking. The hotel is long overdue a refurbishment. The carpets are dirty, the furniture battered and the beds are old. If you can afford it try the Jurys inn. If not, use the Wellbeck just up the road which is far better.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Room was way overpriced I paid 94 pounds for a Saturday night, however it was the cheapest city centre hotel I could find. Hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment, room (214) good size with clean bathroom,but the room did not feel as clean as decor and furniture old..on the plus side good central location walking distance from station and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here this weekend and found the hotel clean but run down beyond belief! The hotel is well placed near the City centre and is pretty cheal (£60 for a twin) so if you just need a place to rest your head then I guess its fine.

The included breakfast was decent with plenty on offer from the full English to cereals, the bar will a reasonable selection of drinks and cheaply priced.

the advertising photos must exisit somewhere else in the hotel, as it is clear this is being run ito the ground. There we 20 of us in a group and no-ne in the party not anyone else had there nice room s you see on the website. Instead we had beds (clean linen) from the 1970s, a big box old type TV in the corner witha felt covered chair with sweaty rear marks on it. The free shower gell was (no joke) about the same content size as a tomato ketchup sachet (so if you only need to clean your left foot you'll be fine) and only one towel on offer.

The staff thorughout were polite and helpful although the receptions atff should try to at least crak a semi smile now and again.

Overall - you get what you pay for but with atravelodge 50m down the street - I'd go there next time.

Oh - bars below the hotel keep going til 4am so you'll need to close your windows which turns the room into a sweatbox!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

2 days on business and a quick stop over. Hotel was clean but a bit dated. Staff friendly and helpful. Good buffet meal and breakfast included. Wi fi naff in the bedroom and have to use the lobby downstairs. For booked in advance price of £25 per night, well worth it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Nottingham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.