We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Nottingham UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Nottingham Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Safford, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Staying in Nottingham UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Reasonably priced hotel in a good location of Nottingham. Friendly staff and adequate rooms though a bit small. Worth the price and visit as it is walking distance to the castle and the city center. Nice restaurant/bar on premise.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, its hard to get a room on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    139
    175
    155
    249
See reviews for
67
252
61
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here last week with national holidays and its not as bad as some make out!

It is what it is, a busy city centre BUDGET ( the key word) hotel.
Yes it is in urgent need of a refurb (head office for Britannia, read the reviews, hundreds can't be wrong!) Fix the lift !!!

Overall though it was't bad, staff in restaurant and bar were curtious and polite, food was replenished and overall was good, price for drinks were good, reception staff were ok, one young lady nice and friendly the others a bit hit and miss.

If you want a central city centre hotel, reasonably priced where food is good and your room is clean but shabby round the edges than its not bad here, It is what it is, and if you have issues with cleanliness than do what any other normal human being would do and ask for it to be sorted,there were management about. Ask and you may recieve, simples :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I attended this venue for a training conference and can safely say this is one of the WORST hotel's i've ever seen. So much so I felt I had to come on here and leave a review.

Where to start?!?! Well from the moment when you walk in to the dingy reception, thanks not only to a lack of lighting where you'd probably want it most compounded by about 50% of the bulbs seeming to have gone (first impressions count!).

The reception staff, whilst nice people, fell short of the standards i'd expect from ANY hotel and no other staff were ever seen.

Everything about the hotel, ever single feature, from the reception, was dated to the point where it seems the only thing that could save the hotel is by levelling it and starting again. I know not every hotel is going to be the most modern, but there are certain standards that any hotel needs to meet. The Britannia falls so far short these standards aren't even a dot to it.

And it's not just the dated nature of the place. Cleanliness was appalling. Every space i saw looked dirty and the same dirt was still there the second day of my visit which tells you all you need to about their level of cleaning.

The toilets on the floor we were on smelt, again weren't cleaned properly and calling them fit for purpose would be a stretch i'm not willing to make.

But the BIGGEST issue for me, was the state of repair. There appeared to be absolutely none. From the lift broken for the first two days of my visit, through to the working lift having a broken hand rail. Now I accept that things break, but they can be fixed. Or at the very least made safe. However the Britannia holds its customers in such high regards that the broken, jagged bar in to the wall was left sticking out uncapped. An accident waiting to happen!

This, unfortunately, was not the only case of some TLC (more than even the most sympathetic mother could give!). Every single space I saw was in a VERY visible state of disrepair. The leather (look) sofas on which large patches of the material have just peeled off, the threadbare (and stained) carpets in every area, the door which looked like it had been kicked open (split down the middle from the top to beyond midway) and simply glued back together (and a hyperactive 5 year old with PVA glue could have done a better job of fixing it.

I've stayed in numerous budget hotels, motels and guest houses around the country and Europe. And the Britannia is quite simply the worst hotel I've ever seen. ever. £19 budget motels blow it out of the water.

Whilst I accept every business faces its challenges, the absolute basics for a hotel are cleanliness, safety and comfort. Not one of which can be applied to the Britannia. Not in the slightest.

My honest advice is to not even consider this hotel. Whilst it's central location may appeal, there are other hotels in the immediate vicinity (3 can be seen from the window of the room i'm in) and even if this weren't the case, it would honestly be better parking at a motorway service travel lodge (or other similar brand) and getting up the half hour earlier required to commute in to the centre.

Avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel with National Holidays on a mid-week break. The first impression on arrival was good, the reception area was spotlessly clean and we were well received, it started going downhill from there on. Firstly we found that only one of the two lifts were working, this resulted in long queues every time we had to use the lift, also on arrival the lift was usually full which meant waiting again.

The room itself again on first impression was reasonable and spotlessly clean, then we found that the room only had two tiny drawers, one of which the front had come off some time in the past and it had been screwed back on with four screws but was misaligned and would not fully close, there had been another small drawer in one of the two bedside cabinets but which had been removed and a piece of wood screwed on in its place.

The room was described as an Executive Room, if that was the case I would have loved to see what a basic room looked like, the TV was out of the Ark, the hair dryer didn't work, nor did the trouser press which, when I opened it fell apart, the heated towel rail had no cable into it and the room heater blew out cold air.

In the passageway there was a strong smell of tobacco smoke every time we left our room, the bar, reception and dining room were always cold. I asked about Wi-Fi and was told that it was only available in the reception and bar area but it was not working due to a fault.

In the dining room the food was not replenished until someone asked, the food was all self service and it was like a cattle market, I have been to numerous hotels with similar dining arrangements but never one as badly organised as this one. At Dinner on the Wednesday evening Apple Pie was one of the Desserts, however when I went there were 4 to 5 other guests waiting but there was none left, this was early in the Dinner period and when we asked we were told there had only been the one pie..................... unbelievable!!

On the Wednesday evening we were so cold and tired we had a soon night, I was awoken at about 11.30 with loud shouting, screaming, foul language and stupid carry from the next room, my wife told me that it had been going on for over an hour but I had not heard it as I am partly deaf and a heavy sleeper.

I phoned reception and told them to sort this out, within less than a minute we could hear the people leaving the room and going along the corridor, we both thought that the party must have been staff and that reception must have phoned them and told them to leave as there was not enough time for anyone to have come from reception up to the room.

On Thursday morning I was surprised when entering the dining room to find a number of men wearing work clothing (including Hi-Visibility Vests and Hard Hats) having breakfast, I am not a snob but I do expect a certain level of dress code in a hotel.

The Hotel is poorly manage and maintained, in fairness the staff were few and far between, it appears the hotel is run on a shoestring, the lady with spectacles on reception and the young lady who seemed to be everywhere were both helpful and friendly. On the Wednesday morning a member of staff said 'Good Morning' and I commented to her that she was the only member of staff we had seen that day who had said that, its rather sad because this could be a good hotel with a little money and better management.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This place makes the Travelodge look like the Bellagio. OK it's cheap - but not cheap enough. Stained threadbare carpets, no heating (air con unit sounded like a 747 taking off), filthy walls, broken shower, lift out of order - the list is endless.

I always read these reviews and think people are overly harsh - not with this place. Take heed - stay clear...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here on the weekend for a shopping trip. Although the hotel is a little tired, the staff and managers were in extremly helpful and accommodating they could not have gone the extra mile to help. Even on a busy Sunday morning and very accommodating in the restaurant on a busy Sunday morning. At such a reasonable room rate it is great value for money great if you're on a weekend shopping trip, visiting friends and wanting to do some shopping!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just stayed for a big party booking and have to say the hotel were very accommodating, staff good and food ok. The package was very reasonable for city centre convenience but if it wasn't for the function I personally wouldn't stay there - wife's worse nightmare - but you get what you pay for. If your planning a big function, 200+ attendees and need a good deal to encourage attendance then this could be for you.
My room certainly didn't look like the pictures on the website.
It's very tired & dated and is in need of some big style investment. But I guess that would mean the prices would go up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Nottingham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.