We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This pub must be in difficulties” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin at Plumtree

The Griffin at Plumtree
Main Road, Nottingham NG12 5NB, England
0115 937 5743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #553 of 1,145 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
loughborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This pub must be in difficulties”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

4 of us had lunch at this pub today - we didn't book, just turned up but found that we were the only people there. The men ordered a pint of beer and the ladies wanted a bottle of white wine but the only ones offered were a chardonnay, not to our taste, or a Spanish pinot, again, not what we wanted so we opted for a red merlot (no shiraz available) which was not great. We were told that they were awaiting a wine order. The IPA beer ordered was not available so Ruddles was ordered - it arrived, cloudy and not tasting good so was replaced with speckled hen which was OK, although again, a little cloudy. The meal was fine and inexpensive but when we ordered coffee at the end, we requested a Baileys with it and were told that they had run out. Now on the 5th December, you would expect a pub to be fully stocked for the Christmas season wouldn't you and we have come to the conclussion that this pub must be experiencing cash flow problems. They may like to comment but our visit was not a success and we would not go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    13
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lunchtime treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went to The Griffin for the first time this lunchtime, the decor is clean and in traditional olde worlde pub style, service was very good and efficient, food was expertly presented and was not over priced. The pub is very friendly to disabled people with plenty of parking. We will certainly be using The Griffin again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just had an early evening meal at The Griffin and will definitely return. The service was friendly and the food was very good quality at an affordable price. Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A change for the better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Griffin has undergone a number of changes over the last few years but the most recent one is definitely for the better. The strange tapas menu has recently been replaced with a more traditional, well priced, pub/restaurant menu.
We haven't visited The Griffin in the evening for a while but decided we would try the Thursday steak offer - two rump steaks and a bottle of house wine for £19.95. We were pleasantly surprised; the steak was excellent (and cooked just as we ordered it) as were the chips (crunchy "french fries" not hand cut monstrosities). The only niggle we had was that the field mushroom was over salted.
The service was very good, possibly because they weren't busy. When word gets out that The Griffin is back on form they will definitely need more staff.
They need to get their website and Facebook page updated to reflect their new menu and the £19.95 Thursday steak offer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely shocking service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a quiet lunch time, on arrival we were ignored by the staff, left standing there not knowing what to do.

When we finally got a table after it took them 20 mins to serve 4 soft drinks, it then took over an hour to serve 4 very small starters, I had pate and got half a slice of toast and had to ask for more bread as there was no way near enough. After waiting again for what seemed like a lifetime for someone to clear the plates we walked out. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin at Plumtree also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Griffin at Plumtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin at Plumtree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.