We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nottingham Castle

Nottingham Castle
Lenton Road, Nottingham NG1 6EL, England
0115 8761400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 236 things to do in Nottingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A magnificent 17th century ducal mansion built on the site of the original Medieval Castle. The Castle has a turbulent past, linked to kings and conquerors and still has a maze of original caves hidden beneath its imposing walls.Now the building houses a Museum & Art Gallery, offering visitors an opportunity to see the best regional, national and international art in the regularly changing exhibition galleries. Plus the permanent exhibitions showcase costume and textiles, silverware, glass and a glimpse into Nottingham's history.
Hull. England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We started our tour of Nottingham at the castle as it was very near to the hotel we were staying in.
There isnt much of the castle left but we enjoyed the walk around the grounds and the terrific views over Nottingham. What was useful was the display boards everywere explaining what you could see over the rooftops.
The flower displays were beautiful and we enjoyed looking at the objects in the museum.
We didnt explore the underground caves but the guided tours appeared very popular.
The admission price was very reasonable and we spent a good couple of hours there.
Well worth a visit.
There was very little in the way of food at the cafe and what there was was greatly overpriced. Try the pubs outside the castle walls down the hill.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    242
    201
    91
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Should be called Dukes Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sadly there is nothing of the old castle left except the walls which can be seen from outside. So if you were hoping for a medieval castle (like me) you'll be disappointed.There is the Dukes Palace built on the site of the old castle, however, and that is a very interesting museum these days. We didn't have children with us but I did notice that there were lots of things for the kids to try, dressing up, mock jousting, archery etc., and I think it would be an excellent family day out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“castle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely time with 2 young children.The childrens area was very good.The museum was excellent.We went down Mortimers Hole which was a very interesting.A good day out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice, but a bit chaotic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

quite a steep walk there and a steep walk once inside the gate. getting in was a bit chaotic and unclear. It seemed set up more for locals and we initially felt unwanted. no guidance was given to us about where to go for things . we were left to look around for the signposts.

my husband did eventually find out about the cave tours . he was underwhelmed.

once inside at the art gallery/ museum it was friendly and the staff there were approachable and knowledgeable . I no longer felt unhappy about choosing to go there.There is much to see in the art gallery and I would go there again

The café was not good for choice and I can see why locals bring their own packed lunch and eat out side.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“castle visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were visiting nottingham for the first time and tried to see as much as possible in a weekend.We picked up some leaflets in the hotel and one of them was for the castle.We visited the castle on the saturday and found the museum very interesting but the castle itself was almost none existent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nottingham Castle also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Nottingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottingham Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.