We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Quality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location and Quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Nottingham for two reasons, to see a show at the FM Areana and to do some shopping. (or at least to carry bags of shopping)
The hotel location is right in the centre, could not be better placed. Between 5 & 10 mins walk to the show and equally as close to the main shopping area.
The Mercure Hotel is very well presented, we booked a "Privilege King" room, which for the extra few pounds was well worth it having that little bit of extra space. If I had to make a comment the bathroom was on the small side but still servicable, with lots of free extras re-stocked each day.
There is no parking at the hotel but they offer discount parking (£10.00 per 24hrs) no more than a 5 min walk away.
Would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Priviledge King ( room 505)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read any feedback provided by our guests so thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review. As mentioned by many other guests here on TripAdvsior, our hotel is slap bang in Nottingham city centre so is especially ideal for those guests who wish to be as central as possible. It is even more ideal for those who have to carry a vast amount of shopping bags for their shopaholic partners as we are only a few minutes walk away from most shops. I really am pleased you found our privilege rooms to be worthy of the extra ( small ) upgrade charge. With each of the privilege rooms coming with extra space, bathrobes, slippers and a nespresso coffee machine, the little extra touches certainly make for a more indulgent stay. Having always been a hotel since first being built in 1822 all of the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms coming in various shapes ( sometimes quirky ) and sizes. We hope very much you choose to come back to Nottingham for another visit and that we can have the pleasure of looking after you next time you do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    175
    72
    10
    17
See reviews for
32
183
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value hotel with all the facilities you'd expect for a four star hotel. Very clean throughout the only exception was shower gel ran out and it was not replenished but that is very minor! Thanks

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for putting aside some of your valuable time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. May I firstly apologise for the oversight of our housekeeping team with regards to them not replenishing your shower gel during your stay. I do hope this didn't ruin an indulgent long hot soaking under one of our wonderful power showers.
I am delighted that like the vast majority of our guests you found our very central city centre location to be one of our strong points. Being surrounded by independent boutique shops as well being spoilt for choice by the many many different bars to grab a cheeky cocktail in really does make us the ideal location for those who wish fully submerge themselves into the great city that is Nottingham.
I very much hope you find another reason to visit Nottingham so we can again have the pleasure of looking after you while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best part about this hotel is its location. In the city center. A stones throw away from the Victoria center.
Breakfast was very nice. Lost of earring places and shopping all around. A great place to stay if you want to spend sometime in Nottingham. Nice gym and has a inhouse unisex Salon.

Avoid the studio rooms. They are very small.

Room Tip: Avoid studio rooms unless alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am very pleased you embraced our extremely central Nottingham city centre location and that it proved to be ideal for your stay in Nottingham. I am also delighted you found us to be 'a great place to stay' as well as finding the service provided by my colleagues to be worthy of a positive mention. We very much hope we can welcome you back to Mercure Nottingham very very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel a little early and was told that are room wasnt ready yet but if we wanted to leave our bags we could and come back in half an hour, this was all fine as we went and looked around the shops as the hotel is so brilliantly located right in the city centre!!

Me and my friend had orginally booked a 'city pad' but my friend emailed ahead to see if we could get a upgrade as it was my 21st birthday, she was emailed back quickly and told we were being given a double room for free, we were very happy with this and the quick polite response.

When we arrived back at the hotel after shopping we were told our room was ready and given the key we got up to our room and found we had been upgraded to a SUITE!! The room was gorgeous, the bathroom was huge and there was a separate lounge area. We were so surpised and it generally made the whole trip better!! We left for the evening and asked for directions from reception, the staff were polite, helpful and made sure we new exactly where we were going.

We had a brillient night out in nottingham and heard no noise when we came in or at any point in the evening.
I think the reviews saying about the noise should be totally disregarded when considering this hotel as firstly it is a city centre hotel, and when i say city centre i mean slap bang in the middle! ofcourse its too be expected you may hear noise from outside when there are people off clubbing and coming home at all hours but we heard nothing from inside the hotel which is what i am judging on.

We left in the morning happy and would mostl certainly be back when we are next in nottingham!!!

Keep up the brilliant work!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. May I also take this opportunity to also wish you a happy ( belated ) 21st birthday. It really is a pleasure for us to be able to add little touches ( whenever we possibly can ) to make any of our guests celebratory occasions feel that extra little bit special. I am delighted the upgrade to the suite proved to do just that. It is also a pleasure to read such a positive review with regards to our location. We are indeed a city centre hotel that is slap bang in the middle of Nottingham, something we do not shy or try to hide away from but does sometimes catch our guests by surprise. We are certainly not a hotel tucked away down a hidden little street. Our location is perfect for those who wish to stay right amongst the hustle and bustle of the Nottingham shoppers by day followed by the lively vibrant Nottingham night life. I am so pleased to see that our location was embraced by yourself and was suitable for your needs. My colleagues and I very much hope we can welcome you back to Mercure Nottingham very soon, hopefully long before your 22nd birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was brillant and I go there again. It was very close to the Arena for any concerts and we wnet to see John Bishop. We arrived to a lovely reception and checked in quickly. Our room was really comfortable and had all the stuff you needed. The coffee machine was an added bonus for my hubby. I would stay here again next time I am in Nottingham

Room Tip: I stayed in room 101 and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback. The team and I are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would be more than happy to stay with us again. A return visit is certainly the highest praise that can we receive from any of our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Nottingham in the hopefully not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at The Mercure because it was so close to the Arena where we had tickets to see John Bishop on Monday night. Travelling straight from work meant that we did not have a great deal of time to settle in before heading out to the show. The room was spacious, immaculately clean, well equipped with a nespresso machine, kettle and plenty of coffee and tea bags. Bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was buffet style, with attentive staff refilling constantly. Gym facilities looked very good, although we did not get chance to use. Spent Tuesday looking at the shops which were again very close by.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a larger room, which was situated on floor 3. Might ask for a room on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Please may I firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything from my colleagues through to your overall stay to be of a standard that met your expectations. I sincerely do hope you find another excuse to come back and stay with us again in the not so distant future.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mecure Nottingham as we were going to the Capital FM Arena Which by the way is only a 5 min walk. When we arrived at the hotel check in was smooth no problem they were expecting us which was bonus as we had booked almost a year ago through a hotel web site. The room was clean and fully stocked with tea and coffee.The Breakfast on the 1st morning was freshly prepared as they were not busy and the second morning it was a buffet, both equally good. The staff were very attentive and interested in what you had to say. Although the hotel was in the middle of the city and there are a few pubs ect near by the noise was something that by passed us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we’re pleased that you enjoyed our location so close to the Arena. We appreciate the positive comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the attentiveness of the staff and we would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.