We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ,does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nottingham

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Nottingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
reading
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good value ,does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good standard of room ,clean helpful staff ,everything you need for a break . Very close to town short walk along canal to city , or a cheap taxi ride parking on site and lots of places to eat and drink around it.

All in all very good value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear asmith907,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We continually strive to deliver the best possible customer experience and I’m happy this has come across during your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all the team.
Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    162
    64
    11
    6
See reviews for
50
100
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The room was quite adequate, clean, well presented and all you would need for that overnight stay. There was a small problem with the heat level in the room - it was extremely hot even though the radiator was stone cold.

Our first floor room was in the front of the hotel above the canopy over the front entrance. Noise from the guest toing and froing was non existent but opposite the hotel is a very large Sainsbury's store. Being so large, the car park makes an excellent race way for alternative driving methods!

What really lets this place down is the very, very poorly managed kitchen and staff levels at breakfast. There was some waiting for a table, which was not so bad, but the tables were being wiped using cloths of dubious cleanliness and then left wet to dry by themselves. Although being checked by kitchen staff quite frequently, the full compliment of food required from the buffet to make a full English breakfast was never there! Bread was the same - rarely stocked to a sensible level. My wife ordered poached egg and after a very long wait, came as a boiled egg (very overcooked poach), toast that was very well done and served on a very inadequately sized tea plate.

Not that this affected us but it certainly did affect later diners, with an hour to go before breakfast time closed the availability of food got worse. I seems that the chef was very anxious to avoid wastage to a level that it was to the detriment of service to the customer. If you want to avoid wastage in this last hour, why not cook to order. Sorry, there were insufficient waiting staff to do this!

This is probably one of the worse breakfast experiences we have had in recent years. It is appreciated that there were two coach parties in the hotel but these do not just appear. Given that such numbers are required to book well in advance, appropriate staffing levels can be hired as appropriate.

This is the second Holiday Inn I have experienced in two weeks and on both occasions the breakfast arrangements have been poor.

Room Tip: Maybe go to the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise from the street machines opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear NodNodPilot,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us a review. It is nice to know that our room accommodations were adequate for your needs. However, it is regrettable that you were dissatisfied with your breakfast experience with us. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your comments to improve on what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this week for one night on business. The experience did not start well as I had to wait over half an hour to check in as the queue was very long. I think it could have been easily solved with additional staff on the reception desk Having said that, I did have time to have a drink in the bar whilst waiting. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped and the bathrooms clean and functional. The main bar and reception area are pleasant. We had dinner at the hotel which started well with a short wait for starters which were very nice. However, we waited an awful long time for both the main course and dessert which were not of great quality and rather disappointing. Having said that, I had a great nights sleep, the breakfast was very good and the check out very quick and pleasant so I think the evenings issues may have been down to the amount of guests the hotel had that evening. As 3 star hotels go, the experience was good overall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear eagertoseetheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am happy to read you enjoyed the room accommodations you received. I am deeply sorry to read that some aspect of our staff service and hospitality were not up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The good news is the internet now works pretty well. The bad news is they still charge you 7.50 British Pounds per day... and they code changes every day so you have to continue to request a new one.

Rooms are clean, beds are comfy, and the bathroom had good water pressure etc.

Breakfast is decent, but there appear to be a number of rates... some with breakfast, some without, and some in between (better price on breakfast.)

All in all not bad, but still requires a bunch of effort on my part to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with AC in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear David F,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. It gives me great pleasure to read that we have improved our guest experience following your previous stay. As you have mentioned we now offer a vastly improved internet service and I can confirm that we are currently reviewing our pricing strategy. Thank you for choosing to return to the Holiday Inn Nottingham and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coverack, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Used to be a regular business guest up until five or so years ago and was always satisfied with the rooms (usually the same room each visit) and always found the staff friendly & helpful, indeed with the number of visits it was easy to become friends. Stayed again last month and not disappointed after 5 years. Executive room at rear of hotel was first class & thankfully quiet but I do wish the Holiday Inn Group would increase their stock of "Special" pillows which they promote so strongly. It is pleasant to have a choice, but unless you are quick you are likely to be unlucky. If you are a regular and an IHG Rewards Club member they already hold your preferences though. Breakfast is quite reasonable although can be a bit of a bun fight if there are a couple of coach loads of crumblies on a theatre visit and choice/variety does not compare with the Q Belfry Hotel which probably serves the finest breakfast in the County (sorry Holiday Inn). Pleased to see some familiar faces still there which is reassuring. A fair amount of road works etc., going on affecting access slightly in one direction but nevertheless hotel is well placed to enjoy what Nottingham has to offer and overall good for both business and pleasure...........long way from the beach though !! (joke).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear GerryBrownBear,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Holiday Inn brand, I’m extremely happy we were able to provide the high level of service and quality you have come to enjoy and expect. We work hard to maintain and improve standards throughout the whole hotel and it gives me great pleasure to receive your feedback. I am very pleased to report that the road works in front of the hotel have now been completed and normal traffic conditions have been resumed. Thank you for choosing to return to the Holiday Inn Nottingham and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Decided to visit Nottingham as not been for a while and booked the Holiday Inn on Castle Bridge Rd.Stayed for two nights and had breakfast included in the deal as we booked well in advance.Lots to do and see in and around the area of the hotel which was very clean and well run with spotlessly clean room and shower and a quite decent breakfast.Only possible little moan was the bedroom was extremely warm even with the heating turned right down but the bed was comfortable so sleeping was'nt a problem.Very friendly staff both at reception and at the bar and dining room.All in all another visit to Holiday inn which went well and will use again in the future

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Lynnbaz,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your recent experience. I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt well looked after by the team. I have passed you comments on to the relevant departments and our maintenance manager will be investigating the heating issue you've mentioned. I am happy to read that this didn’t detract from an overall enjoyable stay.
Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family. This was our first time in Nottingham, and this hotel is in an ideal location. We were close enough to walk into town along the canal, and on occasions where we used taxis, these never cost more than £5.50. All around the hotel are eating places, a massive Sainsbury and garage. From arrival to departure the staff were very professional and polite. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and the whole experience was very relaxing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Foxtikka,

Thank you for your feedback. Your review plays a vital role in assisting us to improve our quality and our service levels. We work extremely hard to ensure that we maintain high standards across the whole hotel and it’s very comforting to read your feedback. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Address: Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. Having recently undergone a 2 million refurbishment, the hotel is now one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting, space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value.Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality winesThe hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Trent FM Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venue s that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes.With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.