We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nottingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Nottingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Nottingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coulsdon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group attending a conference at Trent Vineyard Church in Jan / Feb, and as a regular hotel user I have to say I was impressed with the way that this hotel handled about 50 of us all wanting breakfast at about the same time each morning. We stayed for four nights, and throughout the stay the staff were courteous, friendly, and professional. The rooms are good - spacious with good facilities - a touch worn perhaps, but nevertheless very clean and everything worked. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel !b

Room Tip: It's a quiet area - no need to ask for back or front or high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant departments. We all take great pride in delivering excellent service and I’m really pleased that this has come across during your recent visit. We are currently in the process of upgrading our TV service, we will be installing new 32” LCD flat screen TV’s in every room and updating our current channel offering which we feel will create a new modern feel to our bedrooms.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and if you require any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    215
    82
    16
    6
See reviews for
68
134
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a groupon deal. We upgraded to an executive room as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Room was lovely, warm and spotlessly clean. Bed was huge and comfy. Had a three course meal which was amazing. compliments to the chief. all the staff were friendly, special thanks to Jan for sorting out the flowers my husband had ordered and also to Kyle one of the waiters. Nothing was too much trouble and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Wish we had stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Alison S

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass them on to the team. Congratulations from us all for your first wedding anniversary. I hope you will be able to celebrate your second wedding anniversary here with us.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I generally use priority club hotels and they are of a good standard in general. We got a good rate at £50 for a Friday night. We did not walk to the town center but were assured it was ten or fifteen mins away. Service was well above average and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear JulyAid

Thank you so much for your comments regarding the service you received whilst staying with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on a 'Groupon' deal, just for one night. We had a very enjoyable stay as the room was warm, comfortable and clean - only gripe was the 'old fashioned' tv, but I gather these are due to be changed soon. Plenty of mirrors in the bedroom and quite good lighting. Bathroom not spectacuar, but fine (though a loo brush should be available). Lux shower/shampoo fixed in shower, but no other toiletries available, although I believe you can ask for them.
The hotel has a homely atmosphere and, although check in and check out were slow, the staff were all very friendly nd helpful. An evening meal was included in our 'deal' and the food was of a very good standard for this type of hotel. We had king prawn and coriander fish cakes with wasabi mayonnaise and salad, followed by well-cooked rump of lamb, served with a variety of accoutrements! We didn't have a desert, but they looked good.
Breakfast, too, was cooked well; there was plenty of variety at the buffet and tea and coffee came extremely promptly. Again, all the service was very efficient.
Our only real irritation was wifi. There was a cost in the room, so we came down to the lobby before dinner, to find 'free wifi' stopped at 7pm! Very disappointing.
Shame about this, but, otherwise would recommend the hotel - its in a slightly strange area, a bit out of town, on a big shopping complex, but near the marina. I would think this is very pleasant in summer, but on a wet February weekend, wasn't so good! You can walk into the city in about 15/20 minutes down the canal, depending on where you want to go to, though. However, after doing this and walking all around the shops, we got a taxi back as it seemed a long way, then. It cost about £5.
Generally, though a very well run hotel, with good staff, both in the hotel and kitchens.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear WendyA7

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here as an alternative to driving into the city centre. I was greeted by a very friendly and efficient man on the reception who quickly ran throught he neccesary information regarding the hotel. The location for me was ideal as it was near a large supermarket as well as several eating places such as McDonalds and Pizza hut.
The room was very nice and i got a good nights sleep.
I never ate dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was good and the staff were attentive.
If you want somewhere quiet and comfortabl but not to far from either the motorway or the town centre I can stronly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear peter1561

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location ideal for your requirements.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel now 4 times..... as I am studying at Nottingham Trent University I have to come up from Cornwall for a couple of days....over the last 2 years we have found this hotel to be excellent - the staff are always polite helpful and efficient...as with most hotel chains they do not seem to have a high turnover of staff so we have got to know some of them and are always welcomed back. We could stay closer to the university but always stick to this one because of the clean rooms, the staff and it is more relaxing than a big busy hotel where nothing is too much trouble.....looking forward to returning in September!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kern0w,

Can I thank you on behalf of the whole hotel for taking time out of your day to write your review. We find it very comforting and rewarding to receive such great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having stayed in the Holiday Inn express Derby and had a short break between which was not a good experience, it was a refreshing experience to arrive here. The staff were very helpful and friendly check in was easy and the hotel was clean.

The room was comfortable and prepared well.

It was a working weekend and the weekend football fans and party goers were of no bother at all.

Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful in allowing me in earlier to ensure I made it to work on time

I used the hotel restaurant which was good food and contentious staff that made you welcome and not feel out of place on your own.

Very pleasant indeed

Room Tip: Bar prices are a little higher than you would pay at a local pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Rob H,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased you have had an enjoyable stay with us, I have passed your comments on to all of the relevant departments. We are currently looking at our bar prices as we try to be as competitive as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Address: Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting, space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Capital One Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.