We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen

The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen
Trent Bridge, Nottingham NG2 2GS, England
01159867960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 1,150 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
nottingham
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Food & Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate on the early bird menu which was really good value for money. Great food and the staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    108
    46
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have had to come back again! I love the food here, we have been on several occasions, either for birthdays or treats. The food is just the best with a wide variety and very reasonably priced. Sometimes when they are busy the service can be a bit slow, but this can be forgiven when the food arrives! Thank you for a lovely birthday for myself and my daughter. xx

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose to celebrate our 52nd Anniversary by having a Fine Dining Experience at the Riverbank Bar & Kitchen and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent.

Each course we chose we could not fault with a special mention to the Scallops with Shredded Black Pudding and the pallate cleanser of Rhubarb/Yoghurt & sorbet.

The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive without being overfussy.

It has a great riverside location and delightful ambience . We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverbankManagement, General Manager at The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Congratulations on your 52nd Anniversary! What a fantastic milestone!
Thank you for choosing the Riverbank to celebrate your special day. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff who always get a boost from such positive feedback!

Thank you once again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not bother!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Would just like to say, I came for a roast here and thought the choice was abit dire......pork or beef is that it??? I asked the lady at the bar if I could change the meat to chicken as they do a chicken dish on the non roast menu and the chef was behind the bar also and I could hear him moaning and ranting.....(what is the big effort of changing the meat?) She agreed it would be fine.....so I got my beef dish (which had been changed to chicken, note on the menu the beef dish comes with a yorkshire pudding) and what do you know....no yorkshire pudding? I pulled the waiter up about it who was actually really nice and he gave me one but he did say they had to change what was on the roast to conform to what they served on a chicken roast which they sold in the restauraunt (thanks for telling me this at the bar)....overall the roast was one of the worst I have ever had in a pub/restaurant....I have had nicer ones in a carvery at a fraction of the price! Not only was it not that nice but there was hardly anything on my plate! I left hungry and pissed off to say the least, will not be coming here again!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverbankManagement, General Manager at The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing the Riverbank for your Sunday lunch. I am dissapointed of course to read of such negative feedback on an otherwise very succesful Sunday lunch service. If only you could have made us aware of your dissatisfaction, we could have done so much to put things right.

Our Sunday lunches in the bar rarely attract negative feedback and we also have a more extensive menu in the restaurant where you would have been able to order chicken...with a Yorkshire pudding.

Thank you again for choosing the Riverbank and I hope that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely Ladies Night menu with a delicious cocktail. Great value and efficient, friendly staff. Will definitely come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverbankManagement, General Manager at The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for such psoitive and valuable feedback! The mushrooms on toast and sticky toffee pudding sure have been a popular choice in January coupled with the 50% off promotion we ran.
We also run a 50% off promotion for our Loyalty card holders, so maybe you should get hold of one if you havnt already, to get more great discounts.

Thank you once again for chooing the Riverbank, I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.